Frustrating non yoga injury

I’m not amused, walking to work on a cold, frosty morning I accidentally slipped on some black ice yesterday, I had hit the ground long before I even had a chance to try and save myself. I landed with such a whack that I was dazed and once I realised what had happened found my arm trapped under me hurting like hell along with my upper back, the only thing that saved my head was having my little rucksack over one shoulder. A guy in a house opposite had seen it and came rushing out to help. Once I had regained my senses and found no real damage done I carried on to work to survey the damage in the warm. My arm below the right elbow is bruised to the bone, my shoulder is bruised and now very stiff.

Surfice to say this weeks Tuesday evening practice was not a patch on last weeks at AYL. Upward dog was impossible, as soon as I pushed up a pain shot up the arm, for some reason Downward Dog was doable. So it ended up being standing, then seated up to Navasana without any vinyasas to keep the heat and momentum. No way could I attempt Bhuja or the Kurmasana sequence or the bum balances where you kind of pull on the arms, too freakin… painful. As my back was stiff and the arm wouldn’t support my weight I abandoned any thought of Urdva Dhanurasana and made do with some Salabhasana’s for my backbends. It was only when I tried to roll up into Shoulderstand that I realised just how much of a battering my back had taken on the ice, another asana abandoned. Even Savasana was a moving about trying to find a place of comfort.

Just when practice seems to be moving in the right direction again after all the wrist problems and knee problems. I just hope things improve by the weekend.

12 Responses to “Frustrating non yoga injury”

  1. grimmly Says:

    Sorry to hear about the injury, had a month of unrelated’s myself, irritating. hope it clears up quickly and isn’t too disruptive.

  2. Globie Says:

    Thanks Grimmly
    Seem to be sore & stiff but hopefully no serious damage.

  3. Pat Moore Says:

    Gosh, how awful! I too, am sorry to hear about your fall. It sounds like you’re “lucky” to not have had a worse injury. Many people fare much worse. Hang in there. These are the times when doing the practice is so much more challenging. Take your time and allow yourself what you need to recover.

  4. Globie Says:

    Thanks Pat, yes it could have been much worse, my mum broke her knee last winter.

    Am having a rest today, hopefully by the weekend I will be less sore and stiff.

  5. Helen Says:

    Hi Kevin,

    Bummer, glad you are mostly okay, hope some rest does the trick.

  6. Globie Says:

    Hi Helen my arm has calmed down but the upper back and right shoulder seem to have got more sore and stiff, hope it’s bruising coming out and that I will be ably to practice at TLC on Saturday

  7. susananda Says:

    It’s so rattling to fall on ice, it happens so fast, WHACK…

    Sounds like it’s just bruises though. A rest tonight and it’ll probably start to feel better tomorrow.

  8. susiegb Says:

    ooh, that sounds painful Kevin. Glad you’re mostly OK. It will get better, just not as quickly as you’d like I’m sure! (And I obviously did leave the UK at the right time! Though it’s building up for a storm here in Brisbane today, but no ice of any colour anywhere!

  9. globie Says:

    Hi Susan, can still do the bed hanging though 🙂

    Susie you left just in time for your summer, its now warmer but wetter

  10. Ursula Says:

    Get well soon, Globie. Sometimes we must learn to be patient.

  11. Globie Says:

    Thanks Ursula, I practised at home last night and plan to do a careful practice at the Shala tomorrow, will let you know how it goes

  12. Ursula Says:

    It’s good that you practiced. It makes sense to practice around the injury. A modest practice is always better than no practice at all. Yes again, quick recovery.

Leave a Reply

