One side at last :-)

I got back to the Hotel last night after a day of walking and exploring Kandy, exercise enough I had thought, but after a refreshing cuppa or 2 I decided to get on my mat, I have a lovely wooden floor, which creaks beautifully as I practice. It may not be sunny, but it sure is humid, at least it has stopped raining. I was soon nicely bendy and sweaty and the practice seemed to come easily, no thinking just doing, A lovely Supta K as my feet were able to slide on the wooden floor, soon seated were done and it was time for Pasasana.

Pasasana first side fingers are now touching, but not able to grow and stretch enough for anything else, side 2 finally at last the miracle has happened, on the second attempt I had a safe squat and managed to eek out the extra millimetres and found my fingers not just touching, but overlapping enough for a tentative bind, once the fingers found each other I was able to bind a little tighter, wow 🙂

Backbends and closing were done with the joy of binding Pasasana, so as you can imagine the backbends didn’t quite have the focus and quality, when something unexpected happens the mind, or my mind at least likes to revel in the success, knowing just how hard won it was. I wonder how long the first side is going to take, if ever!

Today I went to the elephant orphanage, the baby ones are cute as they splash in the river, there’s a 3 legged one too, poor thing, but at least its well looked after. I learned that they make paper out of elephant dung, very expensive notebooks, who says shit doesn’t pay! This afternoon back into Kandy with my trousers to visit the Temple of the Tooth, mostly locals, a few french tourists, quite impressive, I’ll add some photos when I get home or have a wifi connection.

So there we are 8 months almost to the day since Kino gave me Pasasana I finally bound a side on my own.

6 Responses to “One side at last :-)”

  1. Helen Says:

    Cool, well done Kevin. Glad you have had a nice holiday.

  2. susiegb Says:

    Oh congrats Kevin on binding pasasana! I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever get there, but who knows! The journey is such fun anyway … 🙂

  3. susananda Says:

    Congratulations !! 🙂

  4. globie Says:

    Thanks Helen

    Susie & Susan thanks but I need to get the first side now. I managed 2nd side again last night so know it wasn’t a fluke

  5. susananda Says:

    Now the easier side can teach the harder side.

  6. Globie Says:

    Hi Susan,
    On side 1 the bottom hand doesn’t get as far round, needs to grow an inch. Also on the second side I seem to have better balance in the squat, so I can squirm further. Happy New year

Leave a Reply

