Commitment

Commitment both physically and mentally seems to go a long way towards making a practice a good one. The point at which we commit to doing the practice every day is the day we commit to changing our lives, fitting life around our practice rather than the other way around. Commitment shows in different ways, be that obsessing about a certain asana or just going to bed earlier or realising certain ingrained habits are detrimental to our yoga practice.

For me it seems to be about mental commitment, Monday night I got home from that place feeling shivery and tired, I thought I was at the point of coming down with something after Sundays splitting headache, but I wanted to practice, the desire to stretch over coming what would have been the sensible option of rest and sleep. So off I went already knowing in my heart and head that there was no way I was going to do a full practice. This mental state of not really committing to the practice ended up with me getting to Janusirsasana and jumping to closing,which became some rubbish backbends before a short Savasana. Then curling up with a hot drink and a DVD, which is what I should have done in the first place.

It’s always good to practice, but it has to be done whole heartedly.Today I woke feeling better and again was aching to stretch when I got home. The difference today being I was completely focussed and commiited to my practice, I knew from the first Surya A that I would do it all, the whole process seems to speed up, I was doing Pasasana after 65 minutes.

Things slow down after that, the usual staring at the ceiling routine before pushing up into the first Urdva Dhanurasana, then walking in on the next couple before standing to start the dropback games. Commitment brings focus which in turn brings heat which brings easier flexibility and better dropbacks and the return of the ability to stand up again from the bolster, the whole thing feels completely different. But a really good practice.

Bandhas are an elusive entity, for years I doubted their existence, but a chance comment by V on Sunday made me try to engage them today, she mentioned walking in a little in downward dog in the Surya’s to be able to engage the Bandhas, particularly that elusive Mula bandha, I tried it tonight and it had the effect of making my practice feel like it had more structure not just in downward dog, but I found myself trying to engage the bandhas before committing fully to the posture and breath though I think the drishte had a day off, there are so many facets to this practice, but it’s great when someone comes up with a different take or explanation.

9 Responses to “Commitment”

  1. V Says:

    Glad to be of any help!

  2. globie Says:

    V, that was a very useful comment, trying to engage the bandhas at the start makes it more likely that the bandhas will be remembered later on.

  3. Clare Says:

    I agree with you on the facets of the practice. I remember this in respect of Mula and baddha konasana. It caused me pain for years, then I tried applying Mula bandha and suddenly it all worked with no more pain. Yoga teaches you that you can always learn from others!

  4. globie Says:

    The yoga community is a wonderful place for little tips and hints.

    Now if I can just remember Mula when i do backbends maybe it will help me with this standing up dilemna.

  5. susananda Says:

    It will help a lot actually… mula bandha is what enables you to ground the legs. Imagine pulling energy up through the soles of your feet, up through the legs and straight into MB.

  6. StEvE Says:

    When trying to grasp Mula Bandha, John Scott’s advice comes to mind. In workshops I went to quite a long time ago now, he’d repeatedly say “on the tail of the exhale”.

    As for the unbelievable strength that bandhas actually have, the starting point of me was working on the 3 slow leg lifts in Sirsasana; the definitely work it!

    p.s. Thanks for sharing the Sri Lanka experience. Shame about the rain!

  7. globie Says:

    Hi Susan, problem is remembering any Bandhas when I am trying to stand up, I am so brain engaged trying to keep the arms straight and inhale up as I rock that everything else goes out the window. I suppose until those things happen naturally, the bandha’s will be a thing too many.

    Hi Steve, I can see what you mean about the Sirsasana leg lifts. Sri Lanka was good, would definitley recommend it, shame about the weather.

  8. Pat Moore Says:

    “the usual staring at the ceiling routine before pushing up into the first Urdva Dhanurasana” I thought I was the only one who deals with that! Truth be told, on a bad day, I’m staring upwards in between UD’s too!

Leave a Reply

