Lower

A much longer practice than I intended tonight. Pasasana in 70 minutes, then another 45 to do backbends and closing. Well it was worth it, even if it has left me tired but too wired to sleep. I managed to walk in much further on the UD’s tonight before dropping back down the wall, then onto the floor before commencing the standing up experiments.

It’s a long winded way but gradual routine, I drop back to my futon and stand up. Then it was blocks+Mysore rug and bolster, then down to blocks and bolster before just the bolster, having managed to stand up from all those stages I figured I would try just the blocks. Too low. What If I put the Mysore rug folded up under the blocks, a height of 4 1/2 inches from the floor, picture below hopefully. surprise surprise it may have had about as much elegance as a drunk at Euston on a Friday night but I managed to stand up twice.

The problem by this point is that I’m knackered, the more dropbacks I do the less control I have, so by the time I got to the blocks the actual backbend wasn’t as deep making standing up again harder. I need to find a way of getting to the lower levels more quickly to save energy. How long until I dare try from the floor ?

2 Responses to “Lower”

  1. susananda Says:

    Soooooo close to the floor now! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. globie Says:

    Thanks Susan. But the psychology of keeping the head back seems to be harder the lower I go.

Leave a Reply

