Yellow 29

yellow 29 is the name of my hospital bed in the Acute ward. After visiting the GP last night and swallowing more tablets than I have probably done in the last 10 years I expected to wake up this morning to see the redness within my black marker pen circle to have gone down, some hope I was obviously expecting too much. The GP told me if the pain got worse or the redness and swelling escaped beyond the marker pen to go to A&E. This afternoon the swelling went mad, breaking the skin, red tracks started appearing and I decided it was time for the hospital. Just over an hours wait to be seen, not bad, really nice South African Doctor decided best action was to anaesthetise it and cut it open, shit that hurt. At this point he told me you are staying in for 2 or 3 days to have intravenous antibiotics. So the right wrist is sliced open and the left has a drip canula needle permanently inserted for the duration, what a state I’m in! After 2 antibiotic doses in A&E they have moved me to the Acute ward, bed 29 which is electric, I can lift my back and legs at the press of a button. I have had my blood pressure taken 4 times so far too and they just changed the dressing for the 3rd time. My Mum and Sister just came with a few supplies, I never expected to be staying for days on end, tomorrow will be my first sickie in over 10 years. But of course the thing that annoys me most is missing my precious, joyful yoga practice over the weekend, no croissants and post practice pot of tea for me this Sunday.

10pm just been told I am “Nil by mouth”, they want to clean it out under anaesthetic tomorrow, so looks like it could be a while before I crack standing up.

18 Responses to “Yellow 29”

  1. V Says:

    Gosh Kevin, I’m so sorry! Get better soon.

  2. StEvE Says:

    It sounds like you are in good hands there. Get well soon!

  3. globie Says:

    Thanks V, hopefully I will see you soon.

    Hi Steve, yes I’m in the right place now, they are thinking it could be something I returned from Sri Lanka with

  4. susiegb Says:

    Again – soo glad you went to the doctors when you did. And yes, maybe a ‘gift’ from Sri Lanka – sigh!

  5. Kai Says:

    Scary, something so small could land you in the hospital! I hope you mend quickly and get out of there soon.

  6. Skippetty Says:

    HOLY MOLY! So glad you checked it out when you did. Is it still cellulitis or do they suspect something else? Get better soon Kev! Hugs!

  7. globie Says:

    Hi Jaime
    Started as cellulitis, but the poison spread yesterday. They are now undecided about operating on it, so am left with 2 drips pumping antibiotic until they decide. At least they let me have breakfast

  8. Lisa Says:

    Get well soon from all the lurkers:)

  9. globie Says:

    Thanks Lisa and the lurkers

  10. V Says:

    Hi Globie,

    How is it going? Have they decided yet?

  11. globie Says:

    Hi V, they decided to give it another nights worth of antibiotic, I am the Op list for tomorrow, but they won’t decide until the morning.
    I would have been really bored in here without my iPhone

  12. V Says:

    Hope the op won’t be necessary!

  13. globie Says:

    Me too, it would screw up practice for months. Though it’s pretty sore and I’m getting to the point of wishing they would just do it

  14. Clare Says:

    Kevin,

    What a horrible thing to happen. I’ll dedicate my practice to you, and struggle with some drop-backs for us both.

    Get well soon!

  15. globie Says:

    Thank you Clare, and especially fir doing some dropbacks for me, if they don’t operate I could hopefully be back doing them in a weeknir so

  16. grimmly Says:

    Sitting here in shock reading this Kevin and about to delete all the bookmarks I made on Sri Lanka after reading about your trip before. Bognor-on -Sea sounds much nicer all of a sudden. At least this will give you good lecture material for the travel club with lots of ghastly slides. Hope they sort it out for you soon, must be getting tiresome.

  17. globie Says:

    Hi Grimm I don’t know Sri Lanka is to blame, so don’t delete too fast it’s a great place to practice

  18. Pat Moore Says:

    Here’s hoping for a speedy recovery Kev!

Leave a Reply

