Moved upstairs

well day 2 on the NHS has been a mixture. Just after midnight they moved me to an orthopedic ward as they said I needed to have the thing on my forearm operated on. So Nil by Mouth and more tests eventually ending at 1:30am with a needle in my finger to test blood sugar, good job I left the maple sugar sweeties at home šŸ™‚

This morning head honcho surgeon decides a second night of no sleep on the IV drips is called for in the hope that surgery cam be avoided. Breakfast then arrives. I am allowed a shower but disaster strikes as I manage to pull out the IV canula spraying blood over the nice White towel, oops. They eventually replaced that with a new one in another vein, ow eek ouch. I am also strapped into a Bradford sling to keep the arm raised, so doing anything is a nightmare with the other arm full of needles. Eventually left in peace for a few hours, it’s been sunny and I have a window bed which meant I was in danger of getting a better sun tan than I did in Sri Lanka! They have dressed my legs in tights for anti clotting, very chic not! I am allowed lunch, chicken and mash, thank god for last nights Battenburg delivery by my sis!

Afternoon brightened by a visit from my parents, Guruji book, granola bars and juice. Tea was a sandwich , the drinks lady is trained, she doesn’t bother asking she just delivers me tea.

After tea the most painful 15 seconds since I got here , an injection by very sharp needle directly into my stomach, it hurt so much I couldn’t even swear. It was all I could do to stay still for the Nurse administering it. She said I was so tense it was making the area harden. Injectionasana what is that 8th series.

Tomorrow we start the whole process again, will they won’t they operate?

At least up here on level 5 the 3G reception is excellent šŸ™‚

8 Responses to “Moved upstairs”

  1. Pat Moore Says:

    Oh my! Thank you for keeping us up to date on your “progress”. I hope you don’t have to do that needle in the stomach thing tomorrow. Keep reading “Guruji”. Good book.
    Again, I’m rooting for you!

  2. globie Says:

    Thanks Pat,
    I just read Dena’s chapter, want to read it again.
    Yes hope that stomach jab was a one off

  3. Helen Says:

    Thanks for the update Kevin. Hope you feel better soon!

  4. globie Says:

    Hi Helen, so do I, but was just saying to AC all the Mari’s and Pasasana could be out for a while

  5. Ragdoll Says:

    I just caught up with the drama – so sorry to hear that you’ve ended up as an inpatient. I hope that last night finally resolved things one way or the other – either surgery, or (hopefully!) so much better that you didn’t need surgery at all. Glad you’ve got visitors bringing you distractions & supplies, x

  6. arturo Says:

    dear Kev
    with so many pinches and needles, how can you type away? i guess how can you not, so you stay in touch with your emotional support system (outside the physical one you have now). but it must be a tad difficult to type, eh? so dear of Kino to wish you well.
    hugs
    Arturo

  7. globie Says:

    Hi Arturo, it’s great being able to keep in touch with my London Shala friends and ones further afield, stops from feeling so isolated and I’m so grateful for everyones good wishes and support. It was lovely so nice when they woke me at 5:30am for my drip to find Kino’s message

  8. globie Says:

    Hi Rosie
    Jury still out on operating or not, it’s not a pretty sight. No idea how long I am being kept in, but it’s the best place, even with the needles. They don’t worry me but they must be running out of places to stick them!

Leave a Reply

