Getting out is harder than getting in!

Hooooooooray I’m home at last.

It’s surprisingly harder to escape the NHS than get admitted. Last Thursday it took me less than 2 hours from arriving at A&E to being admitted for the duration.

After a drip and breakfast the Orthopedic Doctors arrived at 9am, they unwound the mile of bandage, the second layer of softer packing, surgical tape, then more little squares and then finally painfully peeled off a mesh gauze to reveal the extent of the surgery. A bit like pass the parcel without intermediate presents.

Despite the pain of the last few days just a very neat little square, but quite a deep incision, down to the new clean cells, but I was very pleased and so were the Doctors who said “you can go home ”

Well it took one more drip and 9 more hours to finally get through my front door. I am a patient patient and was actually asleep at 2pm when another came for a final look and chat and to start the paperwork. I asked him about using the arm, he said do it to increase the blood flow but back away as soon as I feel a thing, I think that’s permission to start a tentative practice

They were desperate for the bed by 3pm at which point they finally removed the canula needles from my sore left arm and sent me to the “Discharge Suite”. It took another 2.5 hours to get a doctors letter, sick certificate and tablets to replace the drips. I finally left the hospital at 5:45, 15 minutes from tummy jab time and at 6:15 I opened my front door.

I can’t praise the staff enough on all the 3 Wards I was on, from the Cleaners and orderlies, tea Lady to the Nurses and Sisters, all were wonderful despite being understaffed and sticking a needle in my Udiyana at 6pm every night, they smiled and encouraged and got me through some emotionally difficult days and nights. It’s the NHS management that needs sorting out, not the caring staff.

Sleep tonight in my own bed, nobody is going to wake me at midnight and 6am to stick a needle in me, a drip or measure the vital statistics

18 Responses to “Getting out is harder than getting in!”

  1. daydreamingmel Says:

    Kevin I can’t tell you how nice it is to hear your gratitude & appreciation for those who have been looking after you: god bless the NHS eh? We are so very lucky to be looked after without having to worry about whether we can afford it or not.
    [disclaimer: this is not a political statement, just one of gratitude!]

    and welcome home! No rushing back to any crazy moves, just take it very, very easy.

  2. Loo Says:

    so happy you are home! and yes, you are all lucky to have the NHS… and that IS a political statement πŸ™‚

    • globie Says:

      Mel that hospital has been pilloried in the local press, but the kindness and patience of the staff were truly outstanding. The Sister who stayed late into the evening when my op was cancelled to help me through an awful night and get me the fluids and IV I needed. Mo the tea lady, who was true to her word when I woke up from the op and put a beaker of tea in my hands.

      Thanks also to the bloggers and FB folk out there who commented, emailed and texted encouragement. I had visitors most days, but having people to chat to for the other 22 hours was a great tonic. I suppose I better thank my iPhone too, I ummed and aaahed back in June about buying it, but I would have gone crazy climbing Walls in there without it’s access to email and Internet .

      Yep slowly slowly, I’ll see how it goes but maybe I’ll be joining you for a modified practice and brekky next Sunday

  3. globie Says:

    Loo, when it really matters the NHS delivers.

  4. Pat Moore Says:

    Glad to hear that you’re finally home. You’ve been through a lot and it’s good to hear that you’re complimentary about the hospital staff. They really make the difference to people. You should let them know so if you haven’t already!
    So I can’t help saying that if that happened here, chances are you’d have a nice hefty bill for $30K for so. Even sometimes for those with insurance.
    I’m looking forward the hearing about your recovery and practice. Onward and upward!

  5. susiegb Says:

    Totally agree with you about the NHS. So glad we have a version of that here in Oz. And I also agree about how wonderful the hospital staff are (99% of the time anyway!) It really isn’t just ‘another job’ is it. Maybe it’s because people know that whatever they’re doing is really helping someone who needs that help … whatever!

    Anyway, great news you can sleep in your own bed again at last. Just take it easy with that arm, OK?!! πŸ™‚

    • globie Says:

      Hi Susie
      I think it’s the difference between a vocation and just a job. The Nurses dreamt of being nurses and realised their dream and know they make a huge difference when people are at their lowest. As opposed to people like me who just put up with a job they hate for the money

      I’ll take it easy

  6. donutszenmom Says:

    Enjoy your good night’s sleep, Kevin. You certainly earned it!

  7. Skippetty Says:

    YAY! So glad to hear you’re out now, what an ordeal and a half! And pls don’t push it with practice. You need to let the arm heal first! Hugs!x

    • globie Says:

      Hi Jaime, I had no idea when I went to A&E what it would turn into.
      I can do some standing and seated though need to work out how to warm up without Surya’s.

  8. Arturo Says:

    Dear Kev
    I’m happy for you. In the UK, do they wheel you to the front door, even when you are well, when you leave the hospital? They do that in America so you don’t fall and sue the hospital. I hope your strength in the arm comes back soon.
    Cheers,
    Arturo

    • globie Says:

      Hi Arturo,
      They wheeled me to the “Discharge Suite”, but I was freeto walk out the door on my own when my parents came to collect me.

      Well it’s 7 weeks to Kino, so I hope I have some strength in the arm by then, though building the stamina back may be harder than getting the postures back.

  9. Kristi Says:

    I’m glad you finally made it home! Hope you have a few uneventful days to rest up!

  10. Ragdoll Says:

    Good news all round! Glad you’re finally home, and that you had such a positive experience in terms of your care (although clearly you’d rather not have experienced it at all!). I am also one of those who’s very proud of the NHS, but it does always seem to take a long time to escape once you’re in! So often the person with the authority to sign you out is bonkersly busy already, and it’s those who are on the mend who are most able to wait for their attention, I suppose.

    Please do take care as you return to practice. Hope you figure something out which works for you until you’re back to full strength.

    • globie Says:

      Hi R
      You are quite right that I wish hadn’t had to go through those 9 days, but the Staff, once I got past the Dragon on the A&E Reception, were wonderful and their care and humanity made it possible. They always told me what they were doing and why, even the evil tummy jab was explained each time.
      It felt so strange being home today, but I know I was in my Shala mates thoughts and I was certainly thinking about them.
      I tentatively resumed a practice this morning, though almost head butting the radiator during PPC was not good. I can do most of standing. I went to Baddha Konasana, though had to miss quite a few out as well as the vinyasas , but thanks to struggling to get the scales over 9 stone i can almost still do Pasasana!but it’s a start

Leave a Reply

