iPad blog & a little progress

So where were we? Well on the health front it’s been an up and down week, the surgery looks really good, no need for a graft, just the skin quietly healing, the problem is below the surface where the tissues are still damaged and bruised and cause me to reach for the painkillers if I try to do much. The body is slowly recovering, though I was out with my Mum on Wednesday and she thought I was going to pass out. I go from being ok, or thinking I am to having to sit down and take a breather, there is a fine line which I don’t seem to be any good at judging. I am still sleeping a lot, but as the Doctor and others have said that’s my body healing itself.

Yoga is just a case of doing a very slow, highly modified practice. As V commented I am now seeing this as me time, practice is for a different purpose at the minute, to help me heal, to get the blood to flow round to the surgery, alas it’s not giving me energy, it’s taking it, which is why I have become more discriminating about what practice entails, Balasana between sets of poses. But I feel so much better mentally for stretching, but it depletes me physically.

So after a lovely 2 hour yogi breakfast, hot croissants, yummy, I decided that as I have so much time on my hands, craving a keyboard that doesn’t kill my wrist in 2 minutes and having made the decision that I’m going to put me first ( when doesn’t he I hear you say,), l went to the Apple store and bought myself an iPad. Oh my god I love it, I think the only thing I have loved more was my cat. They set it up for me, gave me a 40 minute tutorial, sorted out my iPhone and sent me on my way. So this is my first blog from my iPad, I hope the photo comes out,

I may hate my job, but whoever I have worked for has had their money’s worth out of me, no sick days in over 10 years until now, never late, no time off for Dentists, Doctors etc, I have stupidly in hindsight in the past gone in when perhaps I really should have stayed home, cough splutter, no more doing myself harm for the future. It really is time to give my body the time it needs to recover from what has been a big illness, I truly had no idea just how much it has taken out of me. I am trying to eat a bit more ( Pasasana is still too easy,), I need the food energy. I have followed Doctor’s orders, resting a lot, eating, it will be interesting to hear how she thinks I’m doing on Friday , if she thinks I can go back to work the following week or if she again thinks my physical recovery needs longer.

But at least I have something to occupy my mind now, learning to drive my iPad, I’m glad I decided to do it, rather than keep waiting. If I can’t use my practice to give me that mental lift, then it needs to come from another stimulus and this one is fun,

9 Responses to “iPad blog & a little progress”

  1. susie Says:

    Hey – well done Kevin – both on the attitude regarding yoga while you’re recovering from the surgery, and also on getting the iPad!! You could wait for ages for an announcement about the new iPad, and although it will come, there’s heaps of fun to be had with the original iPad now!!

  2. Pat Moore Says:

    The picture looks great! It sounds like you’ve found a balance for now. Enjoy taking good care of yourself. If you’re not careful, it might become a habit! Enjoy the iPad!

  3. StEvE Says:

    I agree with Susie; You might not be contorting your body on a daily basis at the moment but, man, your attitude and optimism is admirable. Maybe having the time off work has contributed to ‘a new you’ & maybe it’s time to learn from that (hint, hint).

    Congratulations though, for hanging onto so much optimism through this difficult time. I’m sure you’ll be back on that mat in due course, with new-founded optimism.

    I always thought that the next time I’m faced with a set-back, I’m going get myself some good info on basic pranayama and do some work on that. In the meantime though, the time on the mat is quite enough for me.

    Keep well!

  4. globie Says:

    Hi Susie, I checked for an announcement before I went to the Store,just in case. If you saw my sisters question on Facebook think she wants to come round and play LOL

    Hi Pat, yoga has changed a lot of things over the years apart from my body, the way I look at things, but it took what’s happened to make me realise I don’t have the body of a 20 year old anymore despite some of the crazy looking asanas I can do at 46! I was looking for a photo instead of the ones iPad came with and realised I could have one that reminds me of a lovely weekend.

    Steve it’s starting to feel like I am turning a corner, I’m on Probiotics instead of antibiotics. I’m still sleeping what my teacher termed “Toddler” hours, but if that’s what I need so be it. I have got Kino meditation podcast talk on my phone and Jen lent me a positive book to read yesterday. AYL R sent me the reading for her workshops which I couldn’t get to, but yoga reading is nice.

  5. V Says:

    Hi Kevin,

    At the risk of being a killjoy, I would say that if your modified practice is depleting you, then maybe you should be doing less until you get to the point where practice is energizing you. I’m speaking from experience: when my hip was a hot mess I spent a while doing Sun Salutations only, and from there built it very slowly, getting only to the point where I started getting pain and stopping there. The result was that I kept enjoying my practices and left the shala feeling better than when I entered it. Now I wish I could do the same every time I struggle, instead of trying to power on which is my tendency.

  6. globie Says:

    Hi V

    Luckily I don’t experience any pain, I’m completely staying off my hands, so can’t actually do sun salutations, I’m not doing anything that annoys the surgery. I ended up doing a little more than I intended and am paying today, I’m a bit tired. Going to the Shala even if I’m not doing much, though it was more than I should, is a mental lift, being surrounded by everyone and the Shala energy, I layed in Savasana thinking what a good decision it was to be there.

    At least I have got over being frustrated with what I can’t do, but you are right in that I need to pull back on what I do practice.

  7. V Says:

    I’m not saying don’t go to the shala, since you enjoy it so much, just pull back a little. A 20 mins practice can still be a wonderful practice.

  8. Ursula Says:

    Wonderful post. And YES, take the time out. You must heal. At the end nobody will thank you when you go ill at work.
    Sometimes we must modify our practice. Better to step on the mat and to do a few sun salutations, than to do nothing at all.

    Fast recovery. Power to you!
    Ursula

  9. globie Says:

    Thank you Ursula, I am recovering, but it’s taking much longer than I thought it would. I will find out on Friday if I can go back to work next week.

Leave a Reply

