Fit for something

Well after what will be 31 days off work, I will return to work on Monday, oh well it couldnt last forever and I need to start saving for Mysore, not to mention the credit card bill, you would think being off work you would save money, but it aint true, Ipads, Apps, Massage and prescriptions seem to have battered my credit card.

My GP was much happier with my physical state, although I’m still nowhere near 100% fit, the surgery as you can see is looking good, the Alien has been killed off by surgery, weeks on IV drips, tablets, Reeses pieces and Caramel eggs. I still have a way to go before I’m fully fit and not exhausted by doing things I usually take for granted, at least another month or so probably, which as I said before stops me having too higher expectations of the workshop in Edinburgh.

Well she said I can go back to work, but with some proviso’s, that I use a PC keyboard and mouse with my left hand only, tie the right behind my back or something to stop me and cover it with a tube dressing. What happens at work rather depends what attitutude the company take, she has said that if the arm gets too painful or that I find I am physically struggling then I am to go back to her and she will sign me off again or write a note detailing what I can and can’t do. I know that place wont want to make any allowances, well if I get any shit I’m going back pronto, my precious 10 year no sick record has gone now, so stuff em!

And the best part is no longer having my arm swathed in 4 layers of dressings, tomorrow I can have a shower without a plastic bag covering up one arm or the other for the first time in 30 days, no more one handed hair washing while trying to keep the other arm vertical.

4 Responses to “Fit for something”

  1. StEvE Says:

    Looks like the healing process is well underway Kevin. Good luck returning to work; if they do give you any grief just flash the pre-op version of the above photo and, hopefully, they’ll wind their necks in a bit.

    If I was a gambling man, I’d say it’s odds on that you’re going to be fit for the workshop in March, albeit even if you’re still tapering back in towards a full practice. Cool!

  2. globie Says:

    Cheers Steve,

    Yes the before and after photos!

    I am now only missing out upward dog in the Surya’s and Vinyasas, UHP, Purvottanasana, Bhuja, binding Supta K and the Titib exit. I can just bind Mari C again though D on second side can’t happen. Pasasana would be ok if I could pull. It’s backbends that are frustrating, no way can I push up into UD, when the arm is strong enough I am wondering if the shoulder will have lost it? I have started doing hang backs just to try and get a deeper bend.

    The main issue is still stamina and the energy to practice, I did just over an hour at home today, I’m not wiped out, which is a vast improvement

  3. StEvE Says:

    I copped a back injury last week, and haven’t been passed the janu sequence since last Monday (and I’m off to Mysore on the 27th, eek!). However, David Williams once said ‘don’t dwell on injuries’, so that’s my mission statement now and I’m optimistic.

  4. globie Says:

    Wow Mysore that’s great Steve. Hope your back is better by then, lots of massage I hope.

    I’m not thinking of mine as an injury as such, after all I didn’t have an accident, I have just been ill, but it’s just an illness that is taking longer than usual to recover from

Leave a Reply

