Dripping

A change of plan this morning, well last night actually when I discovered the possibility of a train that could in theory get me to AYL in time if not to YP, for a kind of practice, then onto a breakfast with a visiting yoga friend from Dublin and my Shala pals who I have not seen for far too long. The chance to feel part of the loop again, to talk of practice and catch up.

Good plan, alas the train arrived on time and left 20 minutes late, so by the time I got in the door of AYL it was already 8:40, though I’m never sure about the clocks at that Shala, they seem to show different times and I had forgotten to put my watch on. I always seem to end up in the spot in the corner by the window,despite the best efforts of the dehumidifier I was dripping, really dripping, properly Ashtanga dripping and had to vinyasa the Yogi toes into place for the Prasaritas knowing I would most likely get adjusted in C, Louise duly turned up just as I was thinking about coming out to extend the pose for 5 more breaths.

I had expected to only get a half primary in today with the late start, whether this focussed my practice I’m not sure but I was definitely faster today, at Navasana I had to decide and as it was going well I decided to carry on knowing I would get help with Supta K as usual at AYL, I had only been in Kurmasana a couple of breaths when I felt assistance arrive. Even with help this is the posture that still leaves me gasping for breath. Still at least Baddha Konasana is a hang out posture, so is Upavistha until the exit. No Pasasana assist today though 😦

Urdva Dhanurasana without wall cheats first, the first one was dire, but the next 3 were not bad. No playing in dropbacks either today, so at least I didn’t leave the Shala with a headache, assisted down and up and called it a day at that.

Just being able to practice again on a Sunday after all this time was what I really needed, the heat helped but I wasn’t measuring the postures, I was just satisfied to be there.

My mat bags are slowly being wrecked by my black mat, the straps and zips are not up to the job, so I decided to invest in a Shala one built for the job.

Today was a chance to reconnect not only with my Sunday practice but also with my Shala friends at a Patisserie for breakfast. It’s been far too long and has been a factor in my low mood, I have missed the animated chat, smiling faces and just being in that uplifting environment, even the odd scolding for landing dropback on my head!

6 Responses to “Dripping”

  1. Loo Says:

    I’m so glad you made it to practice and breakfast with friends!

  2. susananda Says:

    It was great to see you finally! Enjoyed breakfast too 🙂
    So does this other train you took run every week?

    • globie Says:

      Best Sunday since the end of February.I miss everyone’s company both on and off the mat.

      In theory we should get the earlier train back now, but next 2 Sundays the line is shut down over the holiday weekends for more Engineering work. Hope YP is open on May day Monday.

  3. susiegb Says:

    Glad you made it to AYL and yoga breakfast! Wish I could have been there too … give it a couple of years (smile)

Leave a Reply

