No longer about the backbends

Back to my home Shala today after week of being an Ashtanga tourist in Estonia. Nice to be back in familiar surroundings,surrounded by familiar faces and comfortable back in my favourite spot.

Practice was good,usual tweak to the arm rotation in Parsvakonasana, I don’t really get the point of that one, but if it makes C happy I’ll go along with it. The usual very intense PPC without the hands grounding, she keeps it just this side of excruciating!

My left knee is gradually improving, though I’m conscious of not doing anything to annoy it and stop it’s recovery, so no half Lotus in Ardha Baddha or Mari B & D, though did at least manage to bind Mari D on the second side, so the right knee must be coming back as well. All the extracurricular “Turbo Dogs” seem to be helping with the Titibhasana exit out of Supta K, though I need to work out the Bakhasana part, rather than collapse backwards on my bum. Now my energy has returned I seem to have a lot of work to get back to doing some of the movements I could do when I came back from Sri Lanka, but lost in the Hospital.

Pasasana is back to being a finger touch on both sides, so I’m hoping it won’t be too long until the fingers find each other again.

Backbends were good, Urdva Dhanurasana against the wall to start with, then off the mat, though C is now on me for my left heal turning in instead of out and the angle of my left hand, pushing up is not the mental battle anymore.

Dropbacks are not so much a mind game either, Susan’s hands in prayer at forehead plan, now I’m used to it, is giving me a deeper bend in the upper back and control for much longer. I dropped back not realising C had done her trick of appearing in front of me without me realising and the next thing I know my hips are coming forward and I’m coming back up to standing. Ruth’s “No thinking” comment of a while back has been taken on by Cary, she stops the thinking, once back up she just points at the floor, no time to think, just do it. I’m no longer nervous of doing dropback with her in front of me now, I’m landing safely with more control, though I think I probably bend my knees too early, but the fear factor has been replaced by initial apprehension, but once I’ve done the first one a kind of semi confidence replaces the apprehension. I do need my little towel to aim at, I know if I land in front of it my head will not suffer concussion. Remembering to land with straight arms is helping as well.

My brain doesn’t now spend seated thinking about the backbends to come, practice seemed to go through a long period of it being all about the backbends, so my mind wasn’t in the pose I was actually doing. I have more confidence in safe landings thanks to stronger arms from the Turbo Dogs and the new found extra notches of control in the upper back.

I don’t think I do closing fast, but others do, I don’t spend 10 minutes in Sirsasana, but I don’t fly through the rest either. Cary was on me to the last with adjustment in the breathing sequence. She’s always on me for the drishtes ! But at least she’s back to giving that nice mini massage in Balasana πŸ™‚

All followed by Yogi breakfast, the perfect Bank holiday Monday.

8 Responses to “No longer about the backbends”

  1. susie Says:

    What exactly are you talking about with ‘Turbo dogs’ Kevin? Enquiring minds want to know! Not to mention weak arms … πŸ™‚

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Susie,

    Turbo dog, you lower your arms down from a normal downward dog, so that the arms are parallel, with the elbows only just off the ground. Really gets to the upper arms

  3. daydreamingmel Says:

    Do you mean like dolphin? Or actually I think that is with arms ON the floor so maybe not.
    Very glad I am out of shot in this photo kevin, not sure sneaky photos of shalamates in savasana are allowed without permission!!

  4. globie Says:

    Not like Pincha, arms flat, but elbows just off the ground.

    LOL nobody is recognisable, you all just looked so peaceful πŸ™‚

  5. ragdoll Says:

    Welcome home! I forgot to comment on a post a way back – filled in your form for Mysore yet?!

    Hope the return to work’s not been too much of a downer.

  6. globie Says:

    Thanks Rosey, IT was a nice break.

    I can’t send the Mysore form in until towards the end of July, as it has to be submitted 2-3 months before arrival. I have started looking into flights though πŸ˜‰

    It’s a strange feeling coming back to work, knowing its coming to an end, even though I havn’t confirmed my intentions with the Company yet.

    The thoughts about am i doing the right thing, giving up a relatively safe job, even though its going to be a nightmare to get to if I did stay. I suppose I am trying to justify my plans to myself

  7. Maria Says:

    Kevin, (and Kevin’s Shala mates!)
    I am toying w idea of short visit to london next wknd – where do u guys practise ( if u were ok with me crashing the party!!!) , and is there cheap, safe accommodation nearby or within a short tube ride?
    Thank you all
    M

  8. globie Says:

    Hi Maria, I sent you an email, be great to see you

Leave a Reply

