Forced to give it a rest

20110603-091214.jpg

From somewhere I managed to get a head cold, Tuesday I woke with a sore throat and stuffy head. I hoped practice would sweat it out, but practice felt grim and I bailed at Bhuja. Wednesday I tried again, technically Moon Day, but not at our Shala, so I started to practice and got to PPA and felt like crap so stopped. The feeling of doing myself more harm than good. At least these days I have the sense to stop.

I never intended to practice last night. I had booked the tickets to the concert while I was in Hospital all those months ago. And what a fun night, Union Chapel in Islington is a lovely venue, you sit in the Pews that slope down toward the raised Stage. I ended up in the 4th row and had a great view of Andrea Corr. A good night, just what I needed and the bonus of Caroline Corr appearing as well to play the keyboards. They can both still belt it out.

I am desperate to practice tonight, before a double Shala weekend.

3 Responses to “Forced to give it a rest”

  1. Maria Says:

    Good to hear that you enjoyed the gig! I somethimes think Andrea can have a watery voice – but I’ve heard good reviews of her latest album, so I’m delighted to hear she’s out gigging and perfoming again…
    their brother Jim is gane a bit la-la though……

  2. globie Says:

    A couple of the songs seemed like her voice got lost, but otherwise it was great.

  3. susananda Says:

    ‘Technically moon day but not at our shala’…

    Um, just to explain that again Kev – we had Thursday instead of Wednesday *morning* off at YP because that was slightly closer to the time of the new moon on *Wednesday night* (10ish pm gmt)

    It was moon day on Wednesday night in the UK regardless of which shala you attend on Sunday mornings!

    By all means practice over the moon day if you have a concert, but what has the YP timings got to do with it? See how that makes no sense??

    Early morning pedant’s moment. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

