No Bandages!

I overslept this morning and missed the usual yoga train. Luckily on a Saturday there’s another one, but then I found out that the tube I needed wasn’t working, decisions, decisions, where do I go to practice. I still hadn’t decided when we finally got to London, but decided to go to TLC as usual and surprisingly I still got there 5 minutes early, how did that happen despite having to run, get a bus and 2 extra tube stops?

TLC was quiet, only one other there when I arrived and only 6 of us all told. What I still can’t get my head round is that 4 of the others started after me, but were done and gone before I had got to Savasana, how does that work?

Philippa looked me up and down, I wondered what she was looking for, then she laughed and said “no bandages or straps!”, told her the left knee is still unhappy but otherwise I’m reasonably fit again. She knows she can push me and isn’t scared to give me some great adjustments. Lots today, but she knows when to leave me to my own devices as well. Lots of assists is a two way thing, on the one hand they break my rhythm but on the other they stop me retreating into my own world and getting lazy. P is very effective, almost to the floor in Prasarita C, she said I made a face and asked if the assist had been too strong,told her it was fine, especially compared to E’s mega to the floor assist few weeks ago.

Help in Triang Mukha and Mari C, but left to bind Supta K on my own and got Titibhasana exit though couldn’t quite get Bakhasana. Deep Supta Padang assist. And she easily bound both sides of Pasasana, once bound I’m quite stable. Started by doing Urdva Dhanurasana against the wall, P spotted me and gave me a big adjustment, the 3 following UD’s were good. One self dropback then assisted ones, all good. A nice long Savasana, back to this world to realise just me and one other still in the room. 

Interesting afternoon running the travel club, wonderful to have yogi and Journalist -Novelist Justine Hardy giving a talk on Kashmir, her book “Goat” is one of my favourites, about bringing Pashmina to Europe and turning the profits into charity. .it’s been a long time since I have run into Justine, she used to practice at the L-shaped room.

6 Responses to “No Bandages!”

  1. susananda Says:

    Re PPC – if you made a face then yes, the assist was too strong.

    I’m just going to harp on now like an old broken record that no one listens to about tension in the face, wincing, grimacing etc till you take it on board…. there is no ‘making faces’ during practice! If you have to contort the facial muscles, then being in the posture at that point is counter-productive.

  2. susananda Says:

    I mean why not try setting yourself a challenge to see if you can control the reactions of your facial muscles and keep them completely relaxed through an entire practice?

  3. globie Says:

    I had no idea any tension was showing in my face, the PPC assist didn’t feel anywhere near too much.

  4. susananda Says:

    Kev I’m sorry, I don’t know what made me come on here and be so bossy first thing in the morning (why don’t I just write my own blog??).

    But the key is, she told you you were making a face, and you had no idea. So you have to start to become aware of it 🙂

    The face in practice is really important!

  5. globie Says:

    What were you doing up at that time of day to start with.

    I think it is determination on my face

  6. susananda Says:

    Go for serenity instead 🙂

    Up for practice of course! Even though I decided to do it at home.

Leave a Reply

