Breath, hips and Mysore

The second Sunday running the train company have scuppered my plans to go to my usual Shala. So round the corner to AYL again, which is fine and really quiet in there today. Louise again in charge today, though left alone in my window corner until UHP.

I am still having to modify the half lotus poses on the left, my knee is recovering very slowly from the Garbha accident of the other week. I want the knee to be fully functioning by October. I know I can do Mari B and D and know once the knee is happy again that I will be able to do it. I almost beat Louise into Supta K, but not quite, though the Kurmasana was good and she didn’t need to do much to knot me up and leave me to exit on my own. Left alone until Pasasana, L finger touching the first side and fully binding the second 🙂

Good backbends before only managing to get in one dropback on my own before L arrived to do assisted ones. Telling me to slow the rocks, get the breath and work on the movement of lifting the hips, saying once the hips come forward everything above will follow on it’s own. It still feels no nearer to happening on my own though, despite all the efforts I make when I’m home alone.

A nice practice but where did the sun go, it was a lovely morning when I arrived, but it was pouring by the time I finished and went for breakfast with a few yogis, including teacher T who said October is a good time to go to Mysore. Everyone I talk to about my project is positive and encouraging, though T said the accommodation costs may be higher than I had been led to believe. I talk to people who have been whenever I get the chance now, I am looking forward to finally sending in my application, hopefully getting a positive response and then setting the ball officially rolling.

3 Responses to “Breath, hips and Mysore”

  1. Steve Says:

    You should apply now Kev. June-Oct is 4 months. Places will fill very quickly and you could face a disappointment if you delay any longer. Good luck.

  2. Steve Says:

    Ooops, no it’s not. Apply early July! Derrrr. ……Doing maths at 5.00 a.m. doesn’t work for me.

  3. Globie Says:

    Hi Steve,

    It says 2-4 months, so I can apply in a few days time.

Leave a Reply

