Coming Back

After Sunday’s good Shala practice, then hanging out with good company in the fresh air and sunshine for hours, feeling like I was getting better, well the lurgy and IBS finally abating at least, I thought things were improving. That was until I got back to the office on Monday with its sub zero air conditioning making my chest wheeze, my head split, the muscles in the sides of my back ache and realising just how sore my stomach had become. The whole place is moaning about the aircon, on one of the hottest days of the year people were wandering around with Fleeces on! People took warm up breaks, going outside into the sun to defrost.

So after a day of feeling worse as the day went by I got home and tried to practice, despite the warmth it just didn’t happen, I felt awful and abandoned the project after the Surya’s, ending up curled up in the foetal position on my mat. Tuesday night I tried again, I did get as far as Bhujapidasana this time, but my back and stomach were aching so much that I crashed down trying to do Urdva Dhanurasana, once back on my back I ended up having a 30 minute Savasana, it would have been longer but the phone rang, for Savasana read snooze zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…..

I am finding it really difficult lately to get any consistency in my practice, it keeps feeling like I am starting over, then when I do get a couple in a row and feel a bit more open, something comes along and screws it up. Maybe my body is surreptitiously trying to save its consistency for Kino and Sharath in the coming weeks.

Last night I finally managed a full practice, I had hoped to get to at least Navasana and do some backbends, Navasana came and I thought Ok I will do Bhuja and of course Bhuja is followed by Supta K and on a warm humid night it was easy to bind the hands and cross the feet. After Supta Kurmasana it suddenly doesn’t seem so far to the end, Garbha is a crappy faff thanks to the left knee, I do hope it recovers before I head to India. maybe I should have watched THIS before the garbha Experiment. More proof that hardly eating since last Friday has made Pasasana sooo much easier, maybe they should rename it anorexicasana. Followed by some surprisingly good backbends, but again nowhere near where they can be, I really need to do backbends every day for the strength in the arms and the intensity in the upper back.

I just hope I can get another satisfying practice tonight, I think it’s partly mentally grading my practice, I have expectations, knowing what I am capable of and being disappointed when it doesn’t happen.

Back at the Labour Camp more new rules and regulations, after the no food and drink at your desk policy, new stealth time and attendance system, now they banned Radio’s in the workshop. Those jobs are mind numblingly tedious, and all because they wont pay for the broadcast licence, the guys and girls in there look even more like Battery Hens.

5 Responses to “Coming Back”

  1. Laura Says:

    no tea at your desk?

    • globie Says:

      We got the no tea one reversed, no food still, though my colleague and I in our office with just the 2 of us took about 2 days to ignore that one.

  2. susiegb Says:

    Just xx days left there … ! But I’m glad you’ve got Sharath and Kino to look forward too – what luxury! Really Kevin, here in Australia these sorts of opportunities rarely come up! Yes Dena is sometimes down the road, but not very often, and most of the time I can’t afford to go and stay down there for a week!

    So enjoy it and remember that, battery hen conditions aside, living where you do gives you many wonderful ashtanga opportunities!! I mean – having 2 shalas to choose between to go to on Sundays?!!

    🙂

    • globie Says:

      Hi Susie,
      Since 1995 when TLC opened we have had good yoga in London. London like Byron for you may be down the road, but it’s not a cheap place to stay and yoga is expensive in London as someone who has to pay drop in rates all the time.

      Actually a good job I’m doing Sharath as AYL is closed while he is here, so my get out of jail if the train is late option isn’t there anyway.

      Glad you liked the link

  3. susananda Says:

    Please don’t joke about anorexia……

Leave a Reply

