Double sided Pasasana

20110807-132815.jpg

After being annoyed by a very late arrival into the city, I ended up having a really good practice at AYL. left alone in standing apart from the usual Prasarita C and UHP assists. Second day running my dodgy left knee has played ball and done Mari B, but D is still too intense on the knees outside edge. And managed to get into a proper Padmassana for the Garbha roll. Not sure when I’m going to resume trying to get my hands and arms through the too small gaps. Alas I lost the Supta K race, so not as deep as I can do on my own.

Super adjustment from Louise in Supta Padangusthasana, standing on my hip and stretching me out, felt nice, the last time someone did that years ago they hurt my hamstring.

Pasasana Yay! My fingers well one and a half of them,managed to at last find each other on the first side and managed the 2nd side which L came an tightened for me and adjusted my Drishte:-) Such a buzz to bind both sides.

I had the wall behind me so was able to indulge my UD with hands against the wall warm up, made the usual UD’s much stronger and played rocking, H told me later that my hands had actually lifted, didn’t realise at the time this had happened. Managed 4 dropbacks on my own before Louise came to assist. They are much better at the moment, they seem to go through phases. Standing were good, Louise saying that mechanically I am doing what I need to do to stand, but it’s my breath which is either not synchronised with the movements or is too shallow to give me that initial momentum to lift, she also said my legs could be straighter so the weight is initially more forward. She said I felt so light she was hardly doing anything, C said this a while back but I need to find some way of getting the lift

A 2 hour practice again, but it felt like I had more control and I didn’t run out of steam, if I gad gone to YP it would have been rushed, but by going to AYL I had the time and that makes the difference.

Next Shala practice will be Friday morning, a good way to start the weekend with Kino.

4 Responses to “Double sided Pasasana”

  1. susiegb Says:

    Yeah, both Hamish and Dena emphasised to me the importance of synchronisation of breath and movement. In fact I think it was Dena who said that the breath should initiate the movement. And it is truly amazing what a difference that makes … (If only I’d remember it more of the time!) πŸ™‚

    • globie Says:

      Hi Susie
      My brain concentrates so much on where the anatomy needs to go I almost forget to breathe completely, especially when I am trying to get the rocking action going. As I said to Dena once, “I’m a bloke I dont multitask, I either breathe or bend” πŸ™‚

  2. ivanalindgreen Says:

    glad to hear you are back on track πŸ˜‰ also slightly jealous of your kno workshop πŸ˜‰ a very detailed account of the experience is expected on your blog πŸ˜‰ ivana

    • globie Says:

      Hi Ivana,

      I’m looking forward to Kino, even though I know it’s going to be hard work, all those backbends in led, my arms are aching at the thought.

      Will let you know how it goes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

