Is that my foot?

Back to the Sauna that is AYL today and for the first time in ages the post Sharath bump caused a backlog of yogis waiting to start their practice at 8am. Eventually i started in the Finishing Room and had done all my Surya’s before Louise called “one more” for my turn and what do you know, I get my usual spot in the corner by the window.

It was one of those days when rivers of sweat were forming lakes, so warm my head even got to the floor in Prasarita A and D before the shock of realising that it was my right foot my hand had found in Ardha Bahda Padmottanasana on the first side, I have never managed that before , even though I have been doing it on the first side of the seated version for a while. I’m still a way from finding it on the second side standing or seated.

Not much adjustment today, though knew I was going to get a squishing in Mari A when I saw the pink toe nails on either side and I lost the Supta K race. Mari D is back on both sides, after 3 months of only doing it on the second side, which was my bad side, I’m back to finding the first side relatively easy and back to the second side being an effort. I have carefully reinstated the Garbha experiments, in the sweaty conditions I got my arms a little bit further through, but not far enough, but at least my knee isn’t objecting this time. I was running out of energy, these migraines are debilitating for long after the pain has subsided. I stopped after 5 Urdva Dhanurasanas, saving what was left for dropbacks, but I didn’t get a chance to play as Louise came and did the assisted ones with me, her plan to get me to stand up on my own didn’t happen, though she tried bouncing me, dropback and straight back up, but I need a rock to get the momentum to make it easy for her to ping me back up. I need to play with backbends, doing them straight off isnt opening me up. An enjoyable practice, just hope I can repeat the Ardha Badha Padmottanasana bind the next time and squeeze my arms through a bit further in Garbha.

Moon day rest tomorrow, I need it.

2 Responses to “Is that my foot?”

  1. Ragdoll Says:

    Sounds like a lovely, hard-work-paying-off kind of a practice.

    What’s it like practising after your week with Sharath? I wondered if there’d be any anti-climax.

    • globie Says:

      Hi R, it was quite a surprise to find my foot, satisfying

      No anti climax, i enjoyed the week with Sharath and the energy and fun of doing practice with a 100 others, but to be honest it was nice to get back to my own practice

Leave a Reply

