First day of freedom

20110926-170536.jpg

First day of freedom, though technically I’m on holiday this week. No alarm or migraine woke me this morning, hopefully the cumulative effects of the Acupuncture are kicking in. Only a Typhoid jab to blot the landscape today.

Practice at the Posh Shala yesterday, a so so practice after a day off and the acupuncture treatment. It was toasty warm to start with then the Teacher turned the heating off and opened the door letting a draft blow in, so my arms didn’t get so far through in Garbha, but at least they are starting to go through.

Different Teachers see my backbends in a different light. E noticed my propensity for taking what she laughingly terms “Tea breaks” between each Urdva Dhanurasana, saying just do it and don’t get cold. My two regular teachers have both said I’m close to standing, but E stopped my standing up from blocks experiments yesterday, saying my upper back is not yet open enough to handle the action of standing or attempting to. I have to say that although I stood up they were far from being as fluid or safe as they can be, not my best, so in that context her comments were valid.

She explained that the reason she adjusted my Mari C was not to deepen the twist, but to try and open the area below the shoulders.

I enjoy practice with E, she has a great sense of humour and spots people taking the lazy option.

Two weeks today I leave for Mysore.

5 Responses to “First day of freedom”

  1. Ursula Says:

    Wow.

    So good for you. I’m glad that you can travel to Mysore now. You’ll love it.

    • globie Says:

      Thanks Ursula,

      Ever since you sent me that postcard from Mysore, which I look at every day, I have been determined to get there. You should come and join us.

  2. Ursula Says:

    Oh, this is sweet what you wrote.
    This makes me even happier that you can finally go.

    I’ve a good life, but not so much cash. Next year I wonna go to Rishikesh….:) (with miles and more).

    I’m looking forward to your blog posts. I’s so exciting. Ha.

    • globie Says:

      Postcard was so nice, I could feel and smell Mysore, it has been a reminder to keep the faith that I can go someday. I added it to the blog.

      Hope you get to Rishikesh, Louise Ellis?

  3. Ursula Says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    I don’t know yet. In Rishikesh are a few Ashtanga teacher, also Indian yogis. But I don’t know. It will become more detailed the trip when it becomes sure that I’ll go….:)

Leave a Reply

