Lake Garbha!

20111005-161649.jpg

I thought about having a day off as my lower back is still sore for some reason, but it feels better to try and keep moving rather than sit and stiffen, so on my mat for the 6th day in a row.

Not as warm and humid, autumn is back after the weekend heatwave so it takes more effort, especially with poses than benefit from the rivers of sweat.

I gave Wayne and Maria’s Garbha suggestion a try today, getting into Lotus, lifting and trying to thread the arms through. As you can see my Mat turned into a lake from the water and I’m not sure the water was a great help, I did get the left arm through a little further, but it was at the expense of not getting the right through as far. What I really need is someone to be on hand to pull them through for me, I’m sure they would go with some help.

I abandoned backbends after doing 2 Urdva Dhanurasana, my lower back just didn’t want to know. No dropbacks today either.

Day off tomorrow, some R+R, Miss Steelthumbs is hopefully going to loosen my lower back, Sciatic knot and the pesky ITB’s.

13 Responses to “Lake Garbha!”

  1. Laura Says:

    I use a spray bottle. I spray my arms and legs off to the side of my mat so I don’t soak my towel and then I use my small sweat towel to wipe up the floor so nobody slips in my puddle.

    • globie Says:

      Hi Laura,
      I have not long started trying to do this, so am just tipping a bottle of water over my arms & legs, need to find a spray bottle. Though I’m hoping to be dripping in Mysore, which should make it easier.

      So what entry method do you use, legs up or down to thread?

  2. Wayne Says:

    Given up on the petrol jelly for your arms then?

  3. Laura Says:

    I pull my lotus up before getting my arms in. I have a spray bottle packed so you can use it for illegal yoga practices in the Mysore house 🙂

  4. daydreamingmel Says:

    Here you go Kev, though I’m not sure it’ll help much: http://youtu.be/c8NEuXT7qQo
    I don’t see how it’s possible to do it without lifting the lotus (how would you get your arms underneath if the lotus was on the floor?), but then again I get *into* lotus by lifting it all up, which is probably highly illegal!

    • globie Says:

      Thanks Mel that’s brilliant,

      Thinking about it, I think I must lift the lotus a little once my hand is through, but you seem to go through so quickly and easily, even though you seem to have an incredibly tight Lotus.

  5. daydreamingmel Says:

    that’s what i have been trying to say, i think it is because of the tight lotus, not in spite of it, which may well be why you are having a little trouble at the moment – there’s no hurry, just don’t push your knees! and it might look easy but let’s not forget that I spent MONTHS battling with this and had the scars to prove it, it certainly didn’t happen the first time I tried it 🙂 Lest we forget the bruises: http://lifeonandoffthemat.blogspot.com/2010/09/battered-and-bruised.html

    • globie Says:

      Just seems so illogical that tighter = easier.

      Don’t worry am very aware of my knee, not got any bruises yet.

      I could do with help once I get my hands through.

  6. yoga london Says:

    Yeah, the spray bottle is a great idea. Thanks for the tip Laura.

  7. Wayne Says:

    Mel, your video was spot on – at least that’s how I get into this posture as well. Kev, I think the tighter lotus helps keep everything “together” when you are putting your arms through.

Leave a Reply

