Mysore day 1 – inspired!

Finally after all the planning I have arrived in Mysore. It’s been a journey of much longer than the 24 hours it took to get here. All the toing and froing, the mental gymnastics of finally applying to the Shala, buying my ticket, getting my visa, quitting the job, but it’s been worth it to stand outside the Shala.

I landed at Bangalore at just after 3am, it took another hour to escape the airport, with it’s immigration lines, conveyor belts and then looking for the driver my landlord had arranged to pick me up. Then a 3 hour assault course over roads that wouldn’t be designated as such in Europe, where the only rule of the road seems to be biggest wins!

Mysore at 7:15am, finally after being shown round my home for the next 3 months. A large room with ensuite and a Balcony, kitchen and wifi Internet. I was too shattered at 7:45am to do anything other than set the alarm for Noon and crash out. Looks like I am the only resident for tonight at least. Photos on the other blog.

Of course once awake again I had to go and find the Shala, via the famous coconut stand. I had hoped to be able to register today, but it turns out to literally be a Bank holiday today, so I couldn’t get enough cash to pay the Shala registration fee. I got enough out of an ATM for the day and will try again tomorrow.

Dinner at Tina’s recommended by V, then cakes in a posh cake shop up the road. As I walked to the cake shop a man and his little boy on a motorbike pulled up next to me, he stopped to tell me I was inspiring! I asked him why? He said it was because I was walking up the hill, had strong arms and no belly! I thought the plan was Mysore was going to inspire me and not the other way round!

20111011-185511.jpg

13 Responses to “Mysore day 1 – inspired!”

  1. susananda Says:

    Hahaha…. you are inspiring Mysore, I love it! Am sure it’ll work the other way round as well 😉

  2. openingslowly Says:

    tee hee you’re in the same flat i stayed in 🙂
    Does the electric puja cupboard still work?? – loved that.

    lots of love xxx

  3. Pat Moore Says:

    Wow, what a great time for me to drop back in. Inspire away Globie!

    • globie Says:

      Hi Pat,

      Funny you should drop by. At yoga on Sunday someone must have nudged my bag and my phone had managed to randomly call your UK mobile!

  4. V Says:

    Kev, even if you can’t get all the money, go and register anyway. Last time I was there I explained that I couldn’t get it all in one go and Guruji let me register and pay the rest the next day.

  5. StEvE Says:

    V’s right. I think there’s some kind of IOU system organized Kev.

  6. yogicaroline Says:

    yes Sharath has let me pay in installments before. they know how tricky it is to get all the money in one go, especially if you need to pay rent etc up front too. glad you arrived safe and sound, see you next week!

    • globie Says:

      Hi Caroline ,

      I found a Thomas Cook after much wandering, they changed what I needed, so off to register later this afternoon.

      See you next week

  7. Ellie Says:

    Glad you made it! Looking forward to reading all about your stay. Just a few short months and I’ll be there too… 🙂

Leave a Reply

