The yogis are coming

20111015-175911.jpg

The Ashtangi’s are arriving in droves it seems, from places far and wide. These include Senol, a Turkish guy who I shared a room with at AshtangaLanka over last Christmas and someone who recognised me from the blog. Lots of new people to talk to, so breakfast lasted about 4 hours!

Those who registered yesterday are going to get a whole extra hour in bed, not starting their weekday practice until 5:30, lucky buggers!

I know it’s Saturday,but I practised this morning, I was awake at 6:30, something had again nibbled me in the night,despite my elaborately hanging mosquito net. So I got up and did a slow practice, my last for a while with the stuff I shouldn’t really do beyond Pasasana !

20111015-180010.jpg

This afternoon I went shopping for a sheet and pillow case,just in case it’s a bug not a mozzie that wants my blood. I paid a seamstress the princely sum of 20 Rupees to fold the sheet in half and sew up 2 sides, so I can slide into my clean sack. Not that I wanted it ironed, but on the way back I saw a slip of a girl wielding this gigantic iron, I better she gets “Madonna arms”!

20111015-180143.jpg

I feel for the children, some smile and talk and play Badminton.

20111015-180516.jpg

Some are used but I hope not abused. This little dot was given her Dolly in it’s plastic bag to have her photo taken for a few Rupees, then once photo was taken and coins handed over it was taken away, I hope some of the Rupees put food in her belly tonight.

20111015-180630.jpg

India seems very bright and colourful, vibrant pinks and yellows

20111015-180727.jpg

Well a very early night, I’m slightly nervous at the thought of doing my practice in THAT Shala at 4:30 in the morning.

8 Responses to “The yogis are coming”

  1. donutszenmom Says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your shala practice tomorrow, Kevin! Happy to hear you like Anokhi. I’ll be staying there in January, πŸ™‚

  2. Pat Moore Says:

    Thank you for posting the photos. They show a slice of life that one doesn’t always see. You have a great eye for those things. You will have a great practice tomorrow, and following mornings.

    • globie Says:

      Hi Pat

      Not having to rush round and see everything in 2 weeks means I can explore more slowly and see what goes on, notice more of the little details.

  3. Ursula Says:

    Me too, I’m curious.

    I see already how busy you are. 4 hours breakfast……lol, πŸ™‚

    I do enjoy your journey.

  4. susananda Says:

    Have a great practice Kev! Glad you are getting your 4-hour breakfasts LOL. Really enjoying your blogging. Good point for Ipswich today πŸ™‚

    • globie Says:

      Hi Susan,

      Can’t believe I have done my practice and you are all still in bed. Though as expected I got stopped at Garbha.

      Breakfasts are nice, friendly people, nice food.

      Thanks for the result I had gone to sleep before it finished, despite AC trying to keep me awake!

Leave a Reply

