Practice & chocolate shop

20111018-140243.jpg

I am developing a routine around this getting up in the middle of the night to practice lark. I try to be in bed by 9:30pm latest, though we stayed up to wait for the water guy last night, yes we now have water and I can get my Tea quota. I set the alarm for 3:50am, can you believe that ! Just enough time for a quick shower and drink of water and the 4 minute walk to the Shala. Sharath told us this morning not to arrive earlier than 10 minutes before time, apparently our quiet whispers are waking the neighbours, I find this a bit funny as all you can generally hear is the din of scooter horns, Rickshaws and barking Dogs, but apparently it’s our whispers that annoy the neighbours!

20111018-140333.jpg

Just to prove I’m not eating at KFC here’s a picture of last nights vegetarian potato something or other with Roti’s, all for 55 Rupees. We had street chips to start with that were tasty!

20111018-140425.jpg

So practice today I managed to land my mat on a rutted bit of rug, so I ended up with a rut underneath the middle of my mat for the whole practice. I still have this cold too, so I hadn’t slept well last night and was worried about my energy levels. I took it slowly, but felt ok through standing, there seemed to be a bit of a breeze from somewhere too. Seated feel comfortable knowing I am not going far beyond half way. It must have been hotter than I realised as the exit from Bhuja was ugly, trying to get into Bakasana and jump back I couldn’t help sliding down my arms. Supta K was more about the lack of space, though I bound, but another ugly exit.

So today Sharath just watches me as I manage to get my arms through the gaps into Garbha, far enough that after a lot of wobbling that I can balance and touch my head with both hands. Yay šŸ™‚ Without help I tried to roll around but got beached to the point of not being able to move, so no way could I try Kukutasana today, but hopefully tomorrow when we do a regular Mysore practice I will have the time to suss it out.

Again instead of just sitting and watching I spent the stop time doing mini upper back bends and before the rest did Setu Bandhasana Sharath told us all to lay down, so while the rest did SB I did my usual little pre backbend limbers, that makes a lot of difference to Urdva Dhanurasana. Further today in Sirsasana, not only did I stay up for 15 I even got to 5 in Arha, so maybe not all, but something is coming. Uth Plutihi is funny, as we know he counts slowly he walks around the room for maybe up to 6, then goes to check on the people in the Foyer, at which point I notice quite a few people take a break for a couple before he re enters the main room and they lift up again!

Practice done we came out to find all the sandals seem to have neatly paired up in neat rows on the steps. A cocunut then home for another 2 hours sleep, well the cafe isn’t open until 8. So this little extra sleep has developed into my routine.

Another new breakfast place today, Vivians, run by. Taiwanese lady. Tea was pretty good, but Granola not up to Santosha’s standard

20111018-140903.jpg

After a leisurely breakfast, just 3 hours today! We went for a wander to find the fabled chocolate shop. Trupti Coffee works is a tiny hole in the wall shop that sells hand made chocolate in various flavours, of course I had to test some and was forced to eat it before it had a chance to melt ! šŸ™‚

20111018-140957.jpg

9 Responses to “Practice & chocolate shop”

  1. Maria Says:

    Loving the mysore updates Kevin, and the pictures šŸ™‚ Well done on the early starts šŸ™‚

    • globie Says:

      Thanks Maria,

      I never thought in my worst dreams I would be given a start time this early! It is a struggle, but once my cold goes and I can better establish a sleep pattern hopefully it will come easier.

  2. wanderingmb Says:

    What an amazing experience. The food photos alone might be capable of getting me to India.

  3. daydreamingmel Says:

    I just can’t believe you’re getting up so close to your start time! If i were you i’d get to bed a bit earlier and get up earlier, you’ll really feel it in your practice i’m sure! Even if you say you don’t feel stiff because of the heat being up and about means you’ll have more focus and clarity in your practice rather than feeling sleepy through it (in my humble opinion..). I think somehow it’s easier to get up early in India because you can just see it as India-time, not related to normal hours…

  4. V Says:

    I used to do the same as Kevin – wake up and roll down the road to the shala šŸ™‚

  5. Pat Moore Says:

    3:50 sounds just about right to me – I’m not a morning person either!

  6. susiegb Says:

    What a hard life the Mysore yogi has … šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

