Passing out

I woke up early at 3:30am after a rough night with hardly any sleep. I seriously considered going back to bed, I feel so crap. But I went to the Shala and took my time. Again my Garbha passed or maybe he didn’t see, but anyway I got all the way through. After extra Urdva Dhanurasanas I stood up and landed 4 unassisted dropbacks, then waited for Liz the assistant to come down my row. We did 3 cross arm half way things, which were fine, then she dropped me back fully, I went dizzy then realised where I was and walked my hands in, but felt off, somehow she hauled me up, at which point I was so dizzy and sick I couldn’t let go of her arms, she told me to breathe, but with my bunged up nose that’s easier said than done, at which point I actually passed out and hit the floor.

This felt like Thailand all over again where I was getting dizzy and throwing up in Matsyasana, I hope it was just a combination of heat, the cold and not being able to breathe. I went to the changing room to finish, though I missed out Sirsasana, knowing that could end in disaster on top of someone else.

Home via a coconut, I hope this passes soon, I ended up sleeping most of the afternoon.

Led tomorrow, but will see how I feel in the morning.

For those who asked about the Blow up Cat he has settled in as you can see.

20111020-184716.jpg

14 Responses to “Passing out”

  1. StEvE Says:

    Kev., if this thing persists, at the top of the hill, pretty much opposite ‘Barrista’ Coffee Shop, there is an excellent surgery. Very clean, modern, and well equipped.

    Get well soon.

  2. V Says:

    Are you taking enough salt? I know you like your sugar, but it only exacerbates blood sugar spikes. I would suggest putting a pinch of salt underneath your tongue before you go out in the mornings. Not very nice, but quite effective.

    • globie Says:

      Hi V,

      I will have to get some, though some of the food seems to be salty. Actually at home I don’t have any salt at all.

      My sugar intake here is probably less than at home, no Yorkie bars, not even in the Mega Store and the other chocolate has a funny taste.

      • V Says:

        Speak to Tina. She helped me with a similar problem so many years ago.

        Hi V, although Tina’s cafe is open she doesn’t seem to be around.

  3. wanderingmb Says:

    Oh dear. Could you get away with modifying practice until this thing passes? I read somewhere (grr, forgetting the source, but attributed to David Swenson) that you should aim for practicing at 80% of your capacity. That is, try not to go to your absolute limit (e.g. passing out) so that you have some energy left over for yourself to get well again.
    This post touches upon it, also: http://www.damngoodyoga.com/2011/10/sthira-sukham-asanam.html

    I hope you feel better soon.

  4. Pat Moore Says:

    Yikes, I hope you’re back to your usual self soon. Maybe some napping and less classes until you’re back to 100 percent, or even 90 percent.

  5. mzck Says:

    If you can’t breath, don’t practice.

    Simple.

    And if you’re sick, go to the hospital. Don’t wait. You’re in India, not at home.

    (Inhale on the way up from backbend!).

    I hope you feel better.

  6. D Says:

    Yikes! Please go slow and take it easy….the practice is always going to be there. I hope you feel better soon.

    • globie Says:

      Hi D,

      I am being conservative in my practice, my knee is better but I’m not pushing it and I was really taking my time. Obviously one drop back too many. Hopefully by Mondays self practice I will be ok

  7. Bettina Says:

    After I had arrived in India I got a cold that lasted for about four weeks. I think it’s part of the process of the respiratory system getting used to the smog and the polluted air, though that should not be that bad in Mysore. One of my colleagues advised to drink hot milk with kurkuma and chili powder. I didn’t try it but perhaps you want to give it a go. Get well soon.

Leave a Reply

