Monday Backbending

I have been in London on November 5th, I was in LA once on July 4th, once I was even in a hotel in Beirut as the Israeli airforce bombed the city, but none of those compare to the noise of Diwali fireworks for keeping my eyes from closing and depriving me of the one thing I really need, a proper nights sleep. It goes on all day round to midnight, it’s not just crackers and sparklers, there are some freaking big explosions. Don’t they realise I have to get up in the middle of the night to practice, some people have no consideration, especially as the yoga students probably finance this part of town for a good 6 months a year 🙂

Thanks to my prescription I did get a few precious hours before it was Shala time, it’s starting to work, not so many nocturnal interruptions. There also seem to be less people waiting at the Shala gate in the mornings.

Practice was slow, well not that slow I realised when I got home after, it was actually only 10 minutes later than usual. The Assistant now waits for me to get to UHP, let’s me wobble then adjusts me and today she helped with the following Ardha Badha too. Does lack of sleep make you bendier, does tossing and turning and getting up make practice easier than just laying flat for 8 hours? ( I wish!). But seated were actually pretty good, I just made sure I took my time, I felt Sharath coming to assist my Supta K, but i beat him too it, I think he flicked my foot on the way past, though he was back for Garbha. I think he tries to see how few rocks he can get me round the circle in, before giving me a todge up into Kukutasana, but he seems pleased enough with my efforts and smiles as he leaves. I didn’t want to push my luck so after more than a few Urdva Dhanurasana I rolled up my mat to do closing in the changing room.

When I was done I had to walk by the Stage to exit, passing Sharath sitting in his Chair. I thanked him, he stopped me to ask if I was ok, then asked me why I hadn’t done “backbending” by which he meant dropbacks. I told him the Doctor told me to take it easy and as today was the last Mysore day until Monday I figured I would start again then. He said that’s ok, just as I walked away he said again ” Monday backbending” I looked back to see the smile on his face.

Doing his London workshop gave me an insight into the way he counts the practice and a little of his humour. On his own patch he is a really nice, friendly guy, he rules his Shala, no doubt about that, but I am enjoying practicing with him.

I seem to have limited energy still and burning most of it before 6am is meaning that I am sleeping in the day a lot. If the prescriptions do the job and once Diwali is over I hope to sleep less in the day and more at night and actually get out again. But my body wants rest so that’s what it’s getting.

Peanuts!

7 Responses to “Monday Backbending”

  1. daydreamingmel Says:

    I’ll tell you the same my acupuncturist has been telling me when I complain that all I can do is practice and sleep: your body must need it. You’re there to practice and experience the shala, don’t fight it and wish you could be out sightseeing instead. Just listen to your body, take rest, and allow things to unfold as they are supposed to. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • Globie Says:

      Well it’s getting what it needs then. I only intended to sightsee on Saturdays and Moon days for the most part anyway. That’s the difference being here for months rather than somewhere for a couple of weeks, I don’t have to rush round trying to tick things off.

      I start to feel better late afternoon it seems, once I have recovered and rested. Am much better than yesterday, someone at breakfast said i looked brighter today, god knows what i looked like before, though a Pain au Raisin or 3 would aid the recovery!

      I thought of you at breakfast, a strapping 6ft 2 Aussie girl showed us a photo of her and Sheshadri, he barely cleared her navel! Made me think of you and Kino

      • daydreamingmel Says:

        I’d just like to point out that I am not 6″2 or “strapping” – just in case anyone wonders – hope she doesn’t read this kev as most women would be mortified to be described as strapping!!

        LOL. No Mel never thought of you as strapping, but I bet you got picked first for Netball. So how tall are you, must be 5″ 10 at least?

  2. V Says:

    First, I heart Sharath.

    Secondly, I agree with Mel – sleeping is good!!! Make the most of not having a schedule: you can sleep when your body asks for it, eat when you are hungry…a great feeling of freedom instead of being in a “normal” schedule of getting to work, lunch at a certain hour, sleeping only at night, etc.

    Glad to hear you are feeling better!

  3. Ursula Says:

    Great pictures.

    Yeah, backbending Globie, no excuses….:) hahahaha….

Leave a Reply

