Pasasana day

20111128-185838.jpg

Sleeping (downward) Dogs

Finally the day for doing Pasasana, you may remember Sharath gave it me last Wednesday, but with Moon day plus Saturday plus the led classes its taken until today to finally be able to do it. A solid practice Setu B, the last pose in Primary then it was time. Of course back home I have been doing Pasasana as part of my practice for over a year, but i have had to be patient here and didn’t actually expect to do it here, but Mysore has been full of surprises. So time to squat, twist and bind my hands, but my heals won’t go flat. I did both sides a couple of times then started my backbends and had just dropped back for the second time when Sharath says “Kevin Pasasana” I presume he had missed me doing it first time round, so I did it again a couple of times on each side, then back to backbends, more UD’s then more dropbacks.

I found that although my stand up attempts were not brilliant today, that I could walk in, rock and lift my hands off the ground, rising a little higher each time without actually coming up, but able to keep my head back, so hopefully sewing a seed to help get me up, but without twisting. Eventually Sharath came over to assist, a deep bend, then telling me to walk in more, as I struggled to do that he said something that now seems obvious, “bend your arms,walk in more“, I had been trying to walk the hands with the arms straight, but bending the elbows made it easier, why has nobody said that before? I stood easily as he tweaked my hips, “very good!” he said.

It had been a longer practice than I realised when I saw the clock on the way out, but I suppose doing Pasasana , UD’s and dropbacks twice added a bit on.

Interesting day after breakfast seeing how the system for accommodation works with J, who was looking for a place to live for the next couple of months. Shiva seems to be one of the local Mr Fixits, he changes money and seems to act as a middleman for those wishing to rent out rooms or flats and those looking for a place to stay. J found a nice place to stay at a reasonable price, very luckily as someone cancelled yesterday. I don’t envy her washing machine though, a big stone sink with a couple of rocks to wash, scrub and whack her laundry against.

7 Responses to “Pasasana day”

  1. Maria Says:

    Kevin – it seems like you are having an absolute ball there in Mysore – I’m slightly jealous!
    I’m still settling into life in Vancouver, but have thankfukly found a LOVELY mysore shala – Babylon Yoga – one of teh teachers is actually in Mysore at the moment – Jeff.
    Also one of my bestie bestie yoga friends from Dublin is in Mysore now too – her name is Marie – look out for her!
    Wishing you continued adventures and yoga success – thanks so much for the blog entries – I am totally living viacariously through them!
    Maria ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Maria,

    I didn’t realise you were already in Canada, at least you have a place to practice, good luck.

    Mysore is great, I can see why people arrange their lives to come here every year. I will look out for Marie, what does she look like? I have heard a few Irish accents.

  3. Maria Says:

    hey! tall brunette, shoulder length hair ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. susananda Says:

    Hmm, I never thought to point that out…. walking is easier if you bend your arms! I wonder if I’ve stopped bending mine so much….hmm. Well when people first start walking the hands, normally they are reluctant to lift them at all and do ‘spider creeping’, I do that when I get close to my feet.

    I love your rocking up without twisting or lifting the head. That is excellent, you are exploring that unknown zone between the drop and the floor, and establishing a pattern for coming up safely and evenly ๐Ÿ™‚

    • globie Says:

      He said to me today to “crawl my hands” after walking as far as I can, he hardly touches me and I fly up, like a spring has released, just wish I could do it for myself.

      Today’s rocks were not so good, hands kept going back instead of landing back where they took off from, landed on my back, but at least I didn’t twist

  5. Claudia Says:

    Nice to hear the other side, the Monday side of the pasasana story! congrats…the part of twice backbends and dropbacks, wow! unexpected, but oh well! worth it

    • globie Says:

      Hi Claudia,

      I actually like Pasasana, even if my heals are not quite down, the twists are my “thing”, always have found them relatively easy.

      Yes doing Urdva Dhanurasana and dropbacks twice was hard work!

Leave a Reply

