Different every day

20111216-172303.jpg

Holy Elephant

I seem to be going through a phase of one good Mysore practice followed by a not so good one, Wednesday was good, but Thursday was a struggle, I don’t know what made it so different, I did everything, well except for stand up from backbend, I even got to play on my own in Pasasana before starting my backbends. At least laying on my backbender every morning before i leave has meant my upper back is a bit more open to start with. The dropbacks were safe enough, but I didn’t have as much control and only got 5 in before I found Sharath standing waiting to torture me at the top of my mat. Three half way then the mega deep full version with walking in, more walking in until I get to that point that the spring has to let go and I come up.

All this with Sharath while he was telling a girl waiting to start where to put her mat, “one more” he called and she came into the room, “over there” pointing at a vacated spot, she couldn’t see where, being still half asleep,”there, there”, pointing again, “you asleep, you should have coffee!”, “I had coffee!” replies the girl, “tomorrow you make stronger!” says Sharath.

This morning it was led, I was hoping it would be quiet knowing a lot of people have left in the last couple of days, but no such luck, Sharath has obviously been shifting peoples times earlier to make space for the next wave that will arrive this weekend. Led means no Pasasana or drop back playtime too, but after holding his three long counts of Urdva Dhanurasana everyone’s arms have turned to jelly anyway.

20111216-172944.jpg

The Bangle man

Back in bed by 6:15, sound asleep until I was rudely awoken just after 8:30 by Klepto Cleaner and the Manager. Turns out the owner has arrived for Christmas from London and they had decided to clean properly for a change. Usually it’s a cursory sweep, but today they washed the floors, cleaned work surfaces, took the cooker apart, even scrubbed the Balcony’s. Bog Wallah never showed up, the Manager usually just gives orders, but today he had to literally roll up his sleeves and his trouser legs and clean the Bathrooms!

So it ended up being a very late Breakfast, you have to stay and supervise, otherwise stuff disappears, you can’t trust either of them.

20111216-173108.jpg

The Opticians

I have tried a couple of Opticians while I have been here to get my new prescription made up, figuring it has to be cheaper here than back home. The places I had tried only seemed to want easy single lens jobs, not my varifocal with prism on one side more complicated set up with transitional colouring.They were cheap, but seemed too cheap, even for India and didn’t instill me with confidence that I wouldn’t need a White stick. Today I came across a large Opticians on Devaraja Urs, very professional, English speaking, so I thought I would run my prescription by them. Yes they understood my varifocal with prism prescription, they measured my current frames, found me a pair of Ray Ban frames that were almost identical to my current one. Essilor transition lenses, with Ray Ban frames for less than a third of what I would probably have to pay at home, ready next Thursday! Just hope this works out.

20111216-173239.jpg

Man and Monkey

Wandering around I came across a guy asleep with his Monkey, I would be quite happy with another Cat! It didn’t have a yoga rug, so can’t be the Gokulam yoga rug bandit monkey!

7 Responses to “Different every day”

  1. susananda Says:

    OMG. I love that photo of the Bangle Place!! The Man and Monkey is something else too. Wow.

    • Globie Says:

      The Bangle man is at Devaraja Market, there are a few of them, bangles are just a few rupees each.

      I was taking pictures of the Elephants (top photo ), when I happened to look down and saw the guy asleep with the Monkey.

  2. Susie Says:

    Yeah, as well as your posts about the practice I’ve really been loving your photos! You should make some of them into a photo book when you get back … 🙂

    • Globie Says:

      Hi Susie,

      Apart from taking photos to remember this trip, I am also taking them because I am doing 3 travel talks on Mysore next year in London, Chester and Guildford. I think the Monkey man photo will go down well

  3. Claudia Says:

    Wait, WHAT? there is a monkey Mysore-rug-little-stealer on the loose? did I read that right?

    • globie Says:

      Hi Claudia,

      Yep that’s right. My friend C left her rug mat on her Balcony to dry after practice and a Monkey took it! Great excuse for missing a class though, “Sharath a monkey nicked my mat!” LOL

  4. Susie Says:

    Reminds me of the infamous ‘a dingo took my baby’!! Though I hasten to add, I do believe the dingo was responsible that time !!

Leave a Reply

