Mysore idiosyncrasies

Double Shala practice this weekend, in the Loft at TLC on Saturday morning along with just three others, so lots of help from the start. My fingers actually made contact with my toes on the second side of the seated Ardha Badha P 🙂 P squashed me flat so they couldn’t escape. Her usual trademark Dwi Pada Supta K exit assist.

The idiosyncrasy came at the end of Primary as I was setting up to do Setu Bandasana, P said SB is a preparatory posture for the closing back bends and that when she was in Mysore if you were doing second series, even just my one pose Pasasana, then it was omitted. It’s the first time she has told me and as my neck isn’t a fan of Setu B I wasn’t too bothered about missing it out.

Helped to bind the first side of Pasasana, I can nearly always do the second side on my own, so just a tweak to make it a better bind.

I like that P let’s us all play in back bends, playing UD against the wall etc before doing 4 real Urdva Dhanurasanas, then some drop backs before she went for the record of 10 assisted drop and ups!

Sunday I didn’t get to AYL until 8:45 thanks to the truly abysmal train company who failed miserably during last weeks Jubilee and will probably end up in melt down when the Olympics start!

Warm sunny Sunday morning outside meant a truly hot sweaty practice inside, really how I like it. Saturday’s very assisted practice resulted in everything being much more open to start with and in that heat the whole process is much easier, less thinking, more flowing. Much less assistance until Paschimottanasana , then realigned by Emma in Tiriang Mukha and by L in Mari A, then I just lost the Supta K race to Louise, feels like a freebie when I get put in to it 🙂 Louise made me jump when she arrived for Baddha Konasana . No omission of Setu B today, it was part of the program when today’s teacher was in Mysore.

Another 4 UD’s then I got in 3 drop backs on my own before Louise arrived for just the 5 assisted drop backs, back to her doing virtually nothing to get me up. She says I have the strength and the depth of bend, there is just a connection missing to come up alone again. At least my lower back, touch wood, seems ok with doing the backbends again.

Two good practices in 2 days, though now the Euro’s are on every night, unless a miracle occurs and I manage to wake up and practice in the morning, practice could be taking a back seat!

10 Responses to “Mysore idiosyncrasies”

  1. Maria Says:

    hope ur gonna be shouting for Ireland today V Croatia!!!!! I too am skipping practise this morning in favour of football…….it’d better be worth it!!! 🙂

  2. thealmostyogi Says:

    There’s nothing better than a warm practice room! Makes the body so much more willing. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with skipping practice for football once in awhile, yogi’s need other interests too! Enjoy!

  3. daydreamingmel Says:

    When was that teacher in Mysore? Certainly not the case now as you know…I understand that people teach as they are taught but it seems strange to me to stick with something that nobody else I’ve ever come across is teaching.

    • globie Says:

      Think she was in Mysore mid 90’s. Adam Keen had come across it & asked Hamish about it. First time she has mentioned it to me.

      Can’t believe I managed to wake up & practice at 5:45am on a Monday!

  4. susananda Says:

    Mel, exactly – I also find it bizarre that teachers teach ‘as they were taught’ even when that way of doing things has clearly been discarded. It’s like they’re frozen in time??! Weird.

  5. V Says:

    Well, it depends…I think it’s ok that Nancy G teaches as she was taught 🙂

    • daydreamingmel Says:

      i think it’s accepted that certain rock star teachers (I jest…kinda) can do that. but anyone else? It just seems – yeah, frozen in time.
      Disclaimer: by rock star I mean: have been practicing daily for DECADES – plural!

  6. AC Says:

    I suppose not all teachers can keep up with whatever ‘fashionable’ teachings happening in Mysore, 🙂

  7. susananda Says:

    They could keep up easily if they still went to Mysore 🙂

Leave a Reply

