Humerus but not funny!

20121210-164450.jpg

My break, Osteopath and Nurse friends say it’s quite impressive!

A weekend of discomfort and lots of dozing thanks to one of the painkillers that just seems to send me to sleep within a few minutes of swallowing it. Back to Fracture Clinic today to see the Shoulder Man. I thought I was in for a very long wait when I used the automatic self check in terminal and it spewed out number 1034, but after half an hour my number came up, promoting me to the second waiting area. Twenty minutes later I saw a Doctor, who wanted to get another X-ray to see if anything had moved over the weekend, movement would equal pretty immediate surgery 😦

Painful X-ray as the Radiographer tried to get my arm in the right position, after a couple of goes she got the angle and photo she needed and I had a throbbing arm. Back up to the Doctor who confirmed nothing had moved. As you can see the break is just below the joint, pain occurs from the outside of the arm because of the break and the inside which I guess is a muscle or tendon. Making a slight wrong movement is enough to send excruciating pain down my arm, especially at night.

Q&A He confirmed what the Doctor in A&E said on Friday, it’s a 6 week recovery, if it doesn’t dislodge, this is the tricky part because they can’t put a cast on it and I have just this soft sling job to keep it in place 24/7, yep it stays on at night.

He asked what job I do and realised there is no way I can do it, resulting in a 6 week “Unfit for work” Certificate.

The $1,000,000 question. Can I go on holiday to Thailand on Sunday? After consulting head Orthopaedic man the answer is yes, yahoo, bells, whistles. So it’s sunshine and heat, not TV boredom in the UK winter. It is just going to have to be a very very relaxed trip.

However on my return I already have my X-ray appointment, this could still mean surgery, a screw or plate, if they do it I’m actually going to ask them to insert a spring so I can bounce back up from dropbacks 🙂

I just need to work out how little luggage I can get away with taking. The airline have been helpful, sorting me out a window seat and extra pillows to protect it in flight.

6 Responses to “Humerus but not funny!”

  1. Susie Gardner-Brown Says:

    So sorry to hear this Kevin … however you do seem to be taking it pretty well! I would be screaming if I was going to miss out on a workshop even if I could still go to Bali (or wherever).

    I do hate getting sick – anything that interrupts my yoga practice – or more to the point, means I’m going to have to spend a lot of time easing back into it! So I feel for you – but Thailand is a lovely place to recuperate!!

    • Globie Says:

      I did Kino’s workshop too soon after coming out of Hospital last year. At least I know there is no chance of practice, I’m just glad they are letting me fly off to the sunshine. It is bloody frustrating

  2. Shari Beaubien Says:

    Oh my goodness! I couldn’t believe this when I read your posts about falling. I am SO sorry this has happened to you but I am equally inspired by your amazingly positive attitude. If you’re anything like me, sometimes I need something major to force me to relax. I hope you enjoy your trip and that it’s filled with beautiful warm rays of liquid sun. No need to move to enjoy those!
    Bon voyage and happy holidays!!

    • globie Says:

      Thanks Shari,

      Having the holiday to look forward to (once the Doctor said I could go), even if I can’t do the yoga I was going for has given me something to look forward to. Convalescing in the sunshine will be mentally as well as physically better than being stuck in front of the TV in freezing Europe

  3. Wayne Says:

    Kev – so sorry about all this. Glad you are still going to be able to go to Thailand tho… Go slow and heal! I know it’s frustrating – I’m still recovering from my shoulder surgeries…

    • globie Says:

      Cheers Wayne, I can only do slow, frustration is the word for it.
      I’m thinking more about the possibility of surgery as it remains painful and feeling like it’s moving, though I wonder if surgery will make it stronger in the future and less susceptible to a recurrence

Leave a Reply

