Physio for body and mind

Physio for the Body

I surprisingly started physio this week, I say surprisingly because usually it takes weeks from being told you need it to actually getting an appointment. But as I left the massage therapist on Tuesday afternoon a voicemail popped up offering me a physio appointment for the next morning.

The Physio had seen the x-ray and is concerned about how the fracture is knitting unaligned, so she tailored her treatment and advice with this very much in mind, telling me the main thing not to do is to turn the hand and arm outwards. The appointment was only 30 minutes, but that was long enough, my eyes watered when she lifted my arm testing how much vertical movement I have, not much was the painful answer.

She has given me a set of exercises to do every day, as well as to massage the crook of the elbow and the Pec muscle to get the arm to straighten and get the blood flow and feeling back in my hand. The sharp pain is very much around around where the fracture is and the Bicep muscle by the break, both still have quite a way to go by the feel of it. Another appointment this week

Physio for the Mind

The local Shala offered something different from asana today. The first of a series of monthly 3 hour meditation, relaxation and life change workshop by local actress and writer Susan Earl

20130113-215539.jpg

Not something i would normally look at doing, but as asana is a long way from possible and missing the Shala vibe I signed up.

I was amazed at how quickly the three hours passed. We did visualisations while Susan did Reiki on our feet, weird sensation, but very relaxing. We did practical exercises to try and work out how we spend our time and how in an ideal world we would like to spend it. It showed how much of our life we enjoy, what we don’t, what makes us happy, what is drain, what we do because we have to. The point being to find out what we really, really, really want and how we can get there. In the shorter term how we can start to make changes. How to make life less of a drudge through the rut of life and realise our dreams, whatever they may be. 16 people have very different dreams.

Susan read out a list written by a hospice Nurse of the top 5 regrets people had before they died.

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me

2) I wish I didn’t work so hard

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

After sitting for so long we stood up and did some simple Tai chi movements before more meditative visualisations of colourful balloons floating in a clear blue sky.

It was a much more thought provoking three hours than i expected.I need an unbroken, strong, bendy arm before I can start to realise my dream.

6 Responses to “Physio for body and mind”

  1. StEvE Says:

    I think meditation is a great investment of your ‘downtime’ Kev. I have a very good book by William Hart on ‘Vipassana Meditation’ (title of the same name). Many, many parallels with the breathing practice aspect of Ashtanga asana and pretty thorough investigations into Guruji’s ‘6 poisons of the heart’ (anger, delusion, desire, greed, envy and laziness).

    Wishing you a speedy recovery.

  2. Maria Says:

    Kevin. I think this is a GREAT opportunity to focus on the quieter side of the yoga practice, as Steve suggests above. Having that sitting practice, is a lovely way to start the day. 10-20 minutes of calm.

  3. Helen-Aldred Says:

    That sounds great timing for both the physio and the new class. I meditate before practice and find it really helpful. Are you going to do some meditation at home?

    • globie Says:

      Hi Helen
      The teacher has some of her meditations online as podcasts, so probably easier to start by listening to those. The class turned out to be much more than meditation. I expected to be nodding off, but actually she had us thinking quite profoundly about our lives and what we want. I think if I continue going it will not only help me survive the present frustrations of not being able to practice, but will help with what comes along once I can get back on my mat.

  4. Helen-Aldred Says:

    Hi Kevin,

    Sounds like it will help you with your life too. Great to have something to channel your focus during this unexpected down time. Really pleased for you.

Leave a Reply

