A bit of a blur

I was thinking this blog should be renamed “The Journey of no practice”, but at least I’m hoping there is at last an end in sight of the fractured proximal humerus saga.

Nil by mouth from midnight on Tuesday , admitted to Hospital at Noon on Wednesday, just after 3pm the last words I remember from the polish Anaesthetist were “sweet dreams” zzzzzzzzzzzz. Vaguely with the world again at 8pm, though not really sure, it was all a drug induced blur of slipping in and out of consciousness until the Sister came to stick the anti clot injection in to stomach, she just did it, probably a good thing as if I’d been more with it I would have tensed from the memory of that needle 2 years ago. It’s still a bloody painful 10 seconds, she did at least bring me a cuppa afterwards.

Thursday I was supposed to go home, but the nerve block on my shoulder had worn off and the pain in my Pelvis from the graft was too much, god knows how much medication by tablet, oral liquid and finally when it got to much a morphine drip, sending me back into the zombie semi conscious zone. So being still there another evening stomach jab, owww. Stings for ages after.

Finally Friday enough lucidity and pain stability to talk to the Consultant, who showed me the spectacular x-ray of pins holding it all together. He said not only had he pinned the fracture but separated all the muscles that were glued together after 4 months. The Physiotherapist told me what I can and can’t do. Surprised she got me out of the sling then to be able to almost straighten the arm from day one, though warned I may not get full movement back. I can’t do much until all the stitches come out in 2 weeks time.

Got home at 6pm Friday, without the strong hospital painkillers to knock me out, not a lot of sleep, no position seems comfortable.

Ani, a Nun at Bylekuppe near Mysore bought my download Mysore map a while back and we have been chatting about Mysore, she sent me this lovely Get Well card PDF

Ani in Mysore, click the PDF to see her lovely get well message
kevin.pdf

5 Responses to “A bit of a blur”

  1. Ragdoll Says:

    What a lovely get well message! Glad you’re home and that all went according to plan. Sending you ‘good sleep’ vibes.

  2. Nico Says:

    Hi, I just wanted to wish you the best for your recovery from surgery, and thank you for your blog. Over the past few months, I’ve been tracking not only your recent updates, but started from the beginning, and I’m about up to March 08. (No I’m not a stalker haha). It’s invaluable to an advanced practicioner back when they were starting out so that we can see that others have come from a similar place, and were not ‘born yogis’ like some of the supple young things that populate my local shalas.

    • globie Says:

      Thanks Nico, I have a very long way to go until I can get back to anywhere near the level of practice I was doing. I’ve noticed the spike in read scores, must be you,mat hanks for reading. I’m certainly not a born yogi, I’ve worked for every posture or so it feels.

      • Nico Says:

        Haha, yes you’ve probably been getting a lot of traffic from Mexico where I live… though the traffic will start to come from Spain in a couple of weeks when I move (a fellow traveller here). Best wishes for your recovery, and keep blogging! 🙂

Leave a Reply

