Metalwork

Three weeks since the surgery, the arm has settled down, the graft site still catches me out. I can straighten my arm, do sawing and chopping movements, squeeze a ball and move my shoulder blades together, but that’s all I’m allowed. I’m not allowed to move the arm outwards.

20130424-184155.jpg

On Monday I finally saw the metalwork that’s joined my arm up, pretty impressive stuff. I expect alarms to be going off in Airports and tube stations with knife detectors!

At Monday Fracture Clinic they told me the reason the fracture remained non union was because the tissue between the two bits of bone had started to turn to fibre instead of bone. The Doctor also told me the reason I’m not allowed to move the arm outwards is because during surgery they had to undo a muscle at the front of my chest/shoulder and then put it back. It’s going to take a few months for this muscle to join back on to the tissue, tendons and bone and I could tear it off if I move it outwards. The sling has to stay on for another couple of weeks.

The stitches also came out, this wasn’t as stressful as I imagined, I only felt the last ones pull as the Nurse removed them. Though both the sites are still sore.

The Physiotherapist has given me a couple of extra things to do, next week she is allowed to do more, but this week she just tested the movement I have and used massage pressure to try and free up the knot in my neck caused by the sling. I was a guinea pig for the trainee physiotherapist who was shadowing her this week. What with the re attaching muscle and all the arm muscles that were moved she says it will be at least 3 months of rehab. I can’t really start any kind of yoga practice until the muscle is safely attached again.

This has turned into a long recovery road, but at least I’m now on the right road.

2 Responses to “Metalwork”

  1. Savannah Says:

    Oh my goodness, but those screws are LONG! Especially the top ones. I wonder what causes tissue to turn to fiber instead of bone? That’s weird. And how amazing to think they can just remove your muscle and then put it back and it will reattach itself. The human body certainly is an amazing thing and what we are now able to do to manipulate it is even more amazing (and scary, at times). Glad you have made it over this last, giant hurdle, Kevin.

  2. globie Says:

    It makes it look like the lower ones come out the other side,but I can’t feel them. Hopefully the muscle will join up again, though then it needs to start moving again and get strength back. It was the biggest hurdle, but there’s a few more slightly smaller ones still to get over

Leave a Reply

