Protocol and physio

My 13th physiotherapy session today, hopefully not unlucky! She has at last received some notes from the Consultant about my rehab and what she is allowed to do and how soon she can do it . She tests my range of motion each week, but any improvement she can see is infinitessamly small to be invisible from where I’m seeing it.

After she showed me my new movements, which are tiny but soon become very uncomfortable we moved on to passive therapy, I lay there and she tortures me! Some of her treatment is very gentle, before she then moved on to starting to slowly move my arm outwards for the first time, shit that hurt and luckily she soon stopped, hopefully next week will be better and less painful. But like in practice it’s a case of finding that edge without crossing the line.

As well as what therapy should happen the “Protocol” also has notes about how long rehabilitation should take, which only goes to show how far I still have to go, these notes include

*”Most patients can tolerate occasional work at shoulder level 4-6 months after surgery”. Nope not yet I can’t!
*”Return to heavy lifting or overhead use may require 6-12 months”. handstands at Christmas then, maybe!

3 Responses to “Protocol and physio”

  1. Savannah Says:

    Phew, my own shoulder is aching just reading about it! I can’t think of a better Christmas gift for you though. 🙂

  2. Protocol and physio | The Journey of my practice | Physio Adelaide Says:

    […] Read the original post: Protocol and physio | The Journey of my practice […]

Leave a Reply

