Half a Prayer

Back to the Shala this morning, after plodding through at home in the week it’s easier to see the tiny increments of improvement in the warmth and get some help. Half a prayer in Surya A this week, well I can now lift the left arm up so my hands are about nose level at least and a one arm downward dog to stretch the back of the legs out.

Louise gave me different assists this week, working out how she can best help me without pushing me too far. Help in Parsvakonasana A and B, flattening my foot and twisting me round, making me use the Bandhas to lift the torso out of the leg. Left alone in the Prasarita’s though my left fingers can now touch my left foot in D, last Sunday my fingers barely reached my shin ๐Ÿ™‚

A super UHP assist, there was a time when I didn’t like the assist, but now it would be impossible without help on the second side, I can’t reach my toe and certainly don’t have the strength to hold my foot up. Writing this I realise I forgot Utkatasana , oh well always next week….

Paschimottanasana complete squashing this week, last week Louise held back but this week a full squash. I’ve developed a hybrid vinyasa to do between postures, crossing the feet lifting them, before stepping back in to the one arm DD and step forward. In the Shala heat I could bind Ardha Badhha and Mari A and B on the first sides, it seemed to be a day for twist assists as L adjusted Mari C. No Badha Konasana help this week, nose not quite on the floor. Upavistha is like Prasarita D I can’t quite reach the toes, but at least I can reach the foot.

A deep squat and twist for Pasasana, I’m sure all these long squats should make fully bound Pasasana much easier when my arm can get round my knee. Salabhasana A is the one posture that feels exactly like before, it’s also good for my shoulder blades. Bridges instead of Urdva Dhanurasana and some nice cross arm hang backs.

Closing still has many limitations, Sirsasana, Uth Plutihi, but today I found I can do Sarvangasana and Halasana, but not Karnapidasana, so that’s two more asanas on the way back. It’s only in the sweaty Shala environment that I can really measure, I can do most of what doesn’t need an awkward arm rotation or pulling, but nothing weight bearing in my arms.

I think it won’t be long before I reach the plateau, even with Louise’s help of what’s possible, then it’s going to take a while to get the strength and range of motion to do the rest.

2 Responses to “Half a Prayer”

  1. suzanne Says:

    kevin,
    reading this, it looks like you have made a lot of progress recently ๐Ÿ™‚
    the bones have to heal..aren’t the screws they put in going to make it stronger, perhaps, in the end? are you back at work yet?

    • globie Says:

      Hi Suzanne, yes I’ve made some progress of late. The screws and plate are only there to pull the two broken bone parts together,so that they can join back together. Once the bone is reunited the screws etc won’t make it any stronger. Won’t be back at work for a while.

Leave a Reply

