Medical plateau

For all that practice is improving, the arms range of motion, or lack of, is what is still concerning me and the medics. It’s not like I haven’t been doing my part with all the physio, yoga, Pilates and massage, but I seem to have hit another plateau in the healing process. The arm just won’t lift vertically above 90 degrees or physically lift anything much heavier than a mug of tea.

The Registrar at Fracture Clinic is sending me for an Ultrasound scan to see if I have a frozen shoulder or if the problem is with the rotator cuff muscles, still got to wait another 3 weeks for that and then another few weeks for the result, after which they may do injections to try and free things up, eeek I didn’t think I’d be hearing the dreaded words “sharp scratch” again this year. In the mean time the Physiotherapist says I don’t have a frozen shoulder and that I’m progressing ok and that we knew all along that it was probably going to take (quite) a few months before anything approaching normality returns.

The Physio was on a mission this week, easily the most invasive and uncomfortable session I’ve had since the surgery, pressing her palm and thumbs in to the front of my shoulder to try and break down whatever it is that’s inhibiting my range of motion, 15 minutes of torture later and my arm can lift a little higher, but its another week until I get another session and I can’t push that hard myself to try and keep it free in the interim. She’s given me some new exercises and promoted me back to the red stretchy band, but it feels like I would need that kind of a session every few days to get some results.

After a session like that the shoulder almost seizes up, despite trying to keep it moving. The less it does, the less sore it is, but the more physio I do each day the more sore and seized it becomes later, it’s catch 22. Doing nothing isn’t really an option if I want my practice back, let alone get a new job.

The Consultant has now requested my presence at Clinic next week, so it will be interesting to see what he has to say.

2 Responses to “Medical plateau”

  1. Savannah Says:

    Not lifting beyond 90 degrees nor anything with any weight IS a big deal. I get your frustration and I do hope things free up sooner rather than later. That seems like such an excruciatingly long time to wait for ultrasound! Your medical system is like ours. Hang in there, Kevin. I’m rooting for you. 🙂

    • globie Says:

      Thanks Savannah, everything seems to take forever. The Physio proved the range of motion could be there with more treatment and hopefully without the need for a needle.

Leave a Reply

