Salabhasana

20130804-204707.jpg

Glad Moon day isn’t Sunday

A much less stressful trip into town this week, on my mat in the window spot by 7:50am. Surya B made a tentative return this week, just the one, but that’s one more than I’ve managed in the last 7 months. First Surya A assist from the front being pushed backwards rather than pulled from the pelvis, another little notch of recovery. The rest of standing is fairly consistent now, almost a toe grab in Trikonasana and finally UHP, assisted by Emma where I kept the toe as she managed to get the leg straight.

Seated wont change much now until the left arm starts to go further round the knee in the Marichyasana sequence. Mari D on either side isn’t bound, second side could be with help. Still a Chaturanga free vinyasa, with stepping back and forward, but even doing that is helping the stamina come back. Bhujapidasana I crossed the feet, but can’t take the weight into the arms, that may take a while, the arm is strong is some poses, but in others it just collapses. Supta Konasana is helping my arm, I could touch the floor behind me today, but couldn’t keep the toe as I came up and over.

Louise is still telling me to just do what I can, Pasasana is coming back, Krounchasana I could hold the foot with both hands, so my arm must be lengthening. Salabhasana A I was in it then felt Louise gently pulling my shoulders back to deepen the backbend, it’s almost 8 months to the day since my last Salabhasana assist.

Closing is nearly there except for Sirsasana , it’s coming, I can walk the feet in and start to take the weight, but I’m going to have to practice at the local Shala and work it out with the help of a wall and nobody waiting to take my space. 100 minutes including Savasana, it’s starting to take almost as long as it used to, but I’ve got the stamina to cope now. The arm is getting used to it, even if some things remain impossible.

20130804-204822.jpg

Croissant addiction, not an obstacle !

After breakfast off to 7 Sisters for Mel’s Philosophy discussion group, looking at the yoga Sutras section on the obstacles to practice, lots of interesting discussion and debate. As Mel summed up its a case of “Just Do It!”

3 Responses to “Salabhasana”

  1. Savannah Says:

    Okay, that just might be the best-looking chocolate croissant I’ve ever seen! I hope we can go there! 🙂

    • globie Says:

      There’s a Pret branch about 200 yards from where your Kino workshop is happening, so if you want to go just say the word, will take you.

  2. Shannon Says:

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog
    post or vice-versa? My website covers a lot of the same
    subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

