The end of an era

After 7 years the Lifecentre has finally pulled the plug on the Saturday Mysore class due to lack of numbers, though ironically there were actually 8 of us today. Michaela and Phillipa have taught the class between them for all of those years. The heating was broken today and we ended up with a few fan heaters to warm the Loft up, though even with 8 body’s it still didn’t get that warm. I could still see out of the windows at the end, we didn’t manage to steam them up,one last time.

20131012-173134.jpg

Lots of assistance in all the right places, Mari D and a super Supta K with fingers and feet crossed and bound and the lift in to Dwi Pada, I’m going to miss that assist from Phillipa. Pasasana nicely knotted and Ustrasana to help undo the upper back before Urdva Dhanurasana.

20131012-173227.jpg

UD has seen a minor breakthrough in the last couple of days, I have been able to push up with the heals of my hands against the wall, but in the last few days I’ve started to be able to push up from just the mat. Three on the wall or 2 x wall and one by free standing seems to be the arms limit, but today I managed a second one off the mat with P assisting. The arm can keep me up, it’s the position of the hand that’s the problem, it starts in the right place, but then slides backwards and lifts.

I managed a few nice dropbacks down the wall and was going to call it a day, but Phillipa knew I’d done assisted dropbacks at AYL last week and came and did 3 to the floor with me 🙂

So that’s it, the end of an era. AYL in the morning.

6 Responses to “The end of an era”

  1. suzanne Says:

    hooray for being able to push up from the floor! 🙂 so the hand is sliding up towards your head (as opposed to towards your feet?) i have some ideas about how you might be able to get more range.

  2. Ragdoll Says:

    That’s sad, I bet you’ll miss those Saturday mornings a lot. Have you found somewhere else?

    • globie Says:

      It is sad, Phillipa and Michaela have both been great.

      TY seems to be the only other Mysore option left now on a Saturday, though I’m not a fan of the giant high ceiling warehouse, it’s never warm enough. And with my still recovering arm I’ve been loathe to go outside of the AYL (Louise) or Lifecentre (Phillipa) options where the teachers know the state of play with my arm.

      At least I managed to use up my class pass.

  3. susananda Says:

    Led half-full primary (depending) at YP, where the teacher (me) knows you? 10:30

Leave a Reply

