Waiting impatiently

IMG_2225.JPG
Waiting outside the Shala Christmas Day 2011

Christmas Day 2011 I practised at KPJAYI, a sea of Santa hats doing the first sun salutations as Sharath called “Ekum”. It’s been a bit of a journey since then, I seriously wondered if I would ever be able to do my full practice again, let alone return to Mysore.

Since October I’ve been working part time in the Santa and elf business, those who know what I think of Christmas will probably find this hilarious, bah humbug. I have a contract only until mid January, with a “maybe” of something more permanent, but still part time after. It’s been a nice place to work, the people are good and Mol the dog obviously doesn’t want her BBQ Hula Hoop supplier going anywhere soon!

IMG_2323.JPG
Working in Santa’s workshop

A couple of days ago I was asked by the boss lady what my plans are after January, obviously my reply was along the lines of ” I started looking for another job, or if nothing comes along I’ll go away for a month or so, then hope to find something when I get back”. The £1million question follows, “we loved the work you have done, would you be interested in staying, but February is basically a dead month (ie not many hours)?”

The perfect scenario as far as I was concerned had appeared, so I said “what about if I still go away for February and start again in March?”

She said “Yes”

IMG_2233.JPG
Get the kettle on, I’m (hopefully) coming

Guess what I did next, yep I filled in the online application form to practice in Mysore, Sharath is already full, so I ticked the Saraswati box on the form and I’m now checking my email at regular intervals in the hope of finding the “you may come” email, but no luck as yet.

I hope it comes, after all that’s happened it will be amazing to be back there, so I’m crossing fingers and toes and anything else yoga has taught me to cross.

6 Responses to “Waiting impatiently”

  1. Denisa Sengerova Says:

    Hi Kevin,

    fingers crossed for you to come in February! The indian (and especially shala) heat will melt away all the physical and other ailments🙂

  2. Ursula Preiss Says:

    This is so perfect. Such things one cannot plan, they happen.
    I know you’ll blog regularily. It’s a bit as If I’m there, too. Safe trip as you got already the ‘you may come’.

  3. Mike Evans Says:

    Oh Hurrah! Talk about perfect timing. Good to know that the powers of the universe are working a little more obviously in your favour – because it’s been a bit tough to see it that way for the past year or so.

    • globie Says:

      Mike, You’re telling me, two years of the universe putting one painful obstacle after another in my way. Hopefully 2015 will be the start of a better period.

Leave a Reply

