Practising

Its been a while since I posted, so since I’ve had a few readers ask why the silence, I figured it’s about time I wrote something.

As I mentioned previously I’ve not been too well since I got back from Mysore, I’m awaiting a date for surgery to clear the problem up, I’ve had my pre op assessment, swabbed, a gallon of blood taken from my arm and the new experience of having an ECG. Lots of little red lines proving there is prana still flowing through the body. A Prana graph.

It’s been good to get back to the heat of AYL, doing my full practice again, getting assistance and advice from Louise and Emma, but it wipes me out, my over all stamina and fitness are still way below what they were. I’m struggling with the backbends again, I even did a backbend workshop at “The Dark side” a couple of weeks ago. I’m back to dropping back, but unable to stand up from the mat, though I can stand up from a 1/2 thickness block. It’s more likely a mental block than a physical one as L once said, some row of dots not quite joining up.

IMG_3119.JPG
The Backbend workshop

While I was sick I missed Hamish’s last Conference at AYL, so I was glad to be able to make this months after Sunday practice. Hamish talking about yoga and life, the importance of what yoga does for you being more important than what pose you are on, before opening it up for the usual Q&A.

IMG_2549.JPG
Hamish getting Louise to demonstrate during Conference.

Hamish doesn’t do bulls***, he tells it like it is, a question about if you should do any “warming up” before practice elicited a response of “boll***”, the Surya Namaskars are the warm up.

Question about the length of Savasana, probably brought up because of the queue of people waiting to start in the Finishing Room and the length of time some people were spending in Savasana! His answer you should only lay for 5mins or so.

Question about the spaced out post practice state and making silly mistakes like getting on the wrong bus, in that hour or so after finishing practice. H said after Savasana it’s probably best to sit somewhere quietly for a few minutes before diving headlong back in to the busy real world.

Question about strengthening the knees after injury. H said that spending time in the Warrior postures helps to strengthen the knees.

Habits, Hamish said quite a lot of us have the same little habits between postures, such as wiggling hands/wrists in PPC, stepping back when preparing UHP, but he said ashtangi’s would automatically stand at front of yoga mat in Samasthitihi where as non yogis would stand in the middle of the mat. I realised I do the UHP step back, not sure about the wrist one, but one habit that won’t change is the post practice croissant.

The Ekaminhale editor has chopped my hour long Mysore interview in to a pair of short interviews, part one should be online soon. Part 1 is how it all started and my first trip to Mysore ending with the day I broke my Humerus. Part 2 is the rehab and how yoga and Louise were integral to my rehab and my return to Mysore this year.

9 Responses to “Practising”

  1. AC Says:

    So, who is the teacher you did the backbend course with?

  2. Mike Evans Says:

    Interesting comment on warming up before practice. I suppose that if you have to get out of bed, make an hour’s journey, including some walking, before you get on your mat then standing in samasthitihi for a few moments of chanting is all the preparation you need when you arrive on your mat. On the other hand if you have just rolled out of bed, cleaned the gunge off your teeth and staggered bleary eyed into the next room, and you had, let’s say, a duff shoulder (ahem) then there might be times when a little mobilisation before the first jump-back would be showing appropriate respect to your body.

    • globie Says:

      It usually takes more than a “little” to loosen it up. Mind you the days of falling out of bed on to my mat have gone now I’m virtually unemployed

  3. globie Says:

    I’m back doing a couple of days a week. Emailed you.

  4. AC Says:

    Eileen Gauthier???

  5. AC Says:

    Unrecognisable after all these years………..

Leave a Reply

