On the way back (again)

I’m two weeks post op, hopefully this is finally it after 4 years and 6 surgical procedures. The first week home I mostly slept, I’m sure they gave me enough anaesthetic to knock out a Horse, never mind nine and a half stone little me. Week two I’ve started to find my energy, going for a walk every day and gradually getting on my mat and trying to stretch.

The surgery looks to have been pretty successful, my pelvic muscles need to just get back with the program after having the work done for them for the last three months by plastic tubes. Though having continued to practice has certainly given me a good head start with the physical recovery compared to the majority of people who undergo this type of surgery.

I’ve been doing an hours practice every other day, standing and closing, standing and to Navasana, standing and a bit of second. Doing the second series postures Salabhasana , Bhekasana, Dhanurasna etc without being encumbered by medical tubes and plastic for the first time since January has been liberating.

This morning I managed my first post op full primary, as after all the previous surgery I havnt so much lost flexibility but have lost stamina and strength, 3 days in a hospital bed attached to drips and 2 weeks of R&R, and everything needs to wake up and engage again. Surprisingly I can do Pasasana but can’t quite bind Supta K!

Back to work tomorrow, though just a couple of days a week part time again to start with and hopefully back to AYL on Sunday, though what kind of a practice I’ll be doing I’m not sure, no doubt Louise will stop me getting carried away in the heat and energy of the Shala.

My niece is back from Uni and came to visit, she’s been doing yoga and was complaining that the teacher made them do stuff that was too advanced, so I asked her what she had them doing, J started to describe Astavakrasana and asked me if I could do it, two weeks post op with no warm up,her 50 year old uncle did it!

3 Responses to “On the way back (again)”

  1. Mike Evans Says:

    Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iā€”
    I took the one less travelled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

    … though frankly, given the number of times you’ve been up and down that path now it’s probably looking well-worn. I love astavakrasana, it’s one of the ‘impossible’ ones which I’ve always just been able to do, even though I can’t do a decent supta kurmasana. Dangerously ego-pleasing. I’m 55 – so tell your niece to get on with it!

  2. Linda Says:

    Best wishes Kevin, hope the surgeries are done for your part now so that you can focus on getting back to “normal”šŸ™‚ !

Leave a Reply

