The Squash

Two months post surgery things are starting to improve at long last. Energy is returning, practice isn’t quite such a slog to Bhekasana and I’ve stopped landing on my head doing dropbacks.

I’m managing a full practice 5 days a week, going to AYL on Sundays and the local Shala on a Friday or (whisper it quietly) on a Saturday. Though with the new week structure in Mysore I suppose it’s no longer a criminal offence to practice on a Saturday, so my practice week has become a bit mix and match depending on work, hospital visiting and how knackered I am.

Things were seemingly going well, that is until last weekend. I practised at the local Shala on Friday morning, time to explore my dropbacks, rising from the 1/2 thick blocks followed by three super assisted ones before an un squashed Paschimottanasana .

Friday afternoon I was working at the computer editing a talk I gave the next day, two hours later I went to get up and couldn’t, the left side of my back was rigid.

I’d planned not to practice Saturday anyway, busy giving the talk, but Sunday I took my spot in the corner at AYL, my Upward dogs had no “Up” in them, my back was so stiff I couldn’t bind Mari D, and I just allowed myself to go limp as I was adjusted in to Supta Kurmasana. Weirdly I could still bind Pasasana, the heat in there working it’s magic, but OMG Bhekasana was horrible, it’s my last (legal) pose and I always wait for the assist, but a good job Louise didn’t see my screwed up face.

I decided to try doing a Bridge before Urdva Dhanurasana, aaaahhhhh ******* nope that wasn’t happening, so I got up and left my spot for the next “one more”.

Louise stopped me to ask why I hadn’t done backbends and dropbacks. She thinks it’s a spasm, by not being squashed on Friday “things” hadn’t quite gone back to their correct places in my lower back, the Paschimottanasana squash equalises everything back out. Sitting in the Office chair had just exacerbated the situation and set my left lower back in stone. Doing Paschimottanasana on your own after backbends you don’t get that deep flattening of the lower back and I think that’s what’s done it.

Since Sunday I’ve only managed a couple of not very satisfying practices, I was hoping it would settle down by taking rest days and taking it easy, plus a bit of Feldenkreis .

It’s moon day this Sunday, so no AYL or local Shala unless a miracle occurs.

The talk I gave on Mysore in London I will be repeating in Chester on Saturday 19th September.

IMG_2709.PNG

3 Responses to “The Squash”

  1. Mike Evans Says:

    Sorry to hear you’re aching. I’m a little intrigued by the pashi-squash thing though. After all, practising on your own you won’t get a squash will you? I suppose practising on your own you wouldn’t do the assisted drop-backs either, so perhaps Louise is implying that the rule for teachers should be that if you assist a drop-back then you must also squash?

    • globie Says:

      When you do assisted backbends they are generally much deeper than those you can do on your own. Home alone I usually stand on my hands in Padahastasana before I sit and wriggle in Paschimottanasana, pulling on my feet.

      Generally I would say in most mysore classes you do get squashed after assisted backbends & I know my back must be a lot flatter as my hands are usually beyond my feet when I’m being squashed and I’ve never had a problem like this later in the day. I’m sure the squash realigns everything

  2. Tina Says:

    There is certainly a lot to learn about this issue.
    I really like all the points you have made.

Leave a Reply

