Bhekasana plateau

I posted the following words on FB and it generated a lot more reaction than I was expecting.

I’m bored with Bhekasana, I’ve been stuck at this stupid asana for 4 years, maybe I should save £20 and stay in bed on sundays !

It’s taken a lot of work to get back to where I was pre fracture, pre surgery, pre rehab, then last years little Op, but since last September time or there abouts I’ve been able to do my given practice through to Bhekasana, binding the binds again on my own and having the stamina.

During all the rehab practice had a purpose, I could literally see and feel what it was doing for me mentally as well as physically. I kind of hoped or expected practice to start moving along again, but it hasn’t, it’s become more of a mental challenge to do it now than physically to plod through.

I do Bhekasana and think “is that it”, if Bhekasana is to be my lifetime Ashtanga plateau it’s a bit of a crap one. Practice has ceased to have it’s feelings of challenge, satisfaction or fun that it had in the past when L was adding postures on when I was just getting the hang of the previous one.

Yes I know it’s not about collecting asanas, but practice has lost it’s purpose, a reason to work at it, I finish and it’s like “that’s done”. It’s on the daily to do list, no longer because I want and look forward to doing it, but because at nearly 52, it feels like something I need to do to maintain the creaking system. I don’t want it to be like that.

Not that I want to stop practising, but more what’s the point of Shala practice when I’m feeling like I’ve stopped progressing and don’t get anything out of it apart from a leg occasionally held up in UHP, a squash in Paschimot if someone’s passing and an assist with the aforementioned Bhekasana before backbends and heading for the closing room. I can do it without really having to make the physical and mental effort it used to need, I can feel I have energy left. Its like I’m no longer working towards anything and I’m pretty much left alone because I can do everything I’ve been given. Perhaps they think I’ve gone as far as I’m going, which is fine, I have absolute respect for L, H and everyone else who has taught me, but if that’s the case maybe I would be better off ditching the travel stress on Sundays and just ploughing through at home.

3 Responses to “Bhekasana plateau”

  1. blooeuterpian Says:

    Kev ,

    I too have struggled with my enthusiasm and connection to my practice lately . Stuck ,Stiff , ache , no focus , no colours no Buzzz.

    It’s possible that my practice may now not progress any more physically .

    Regressive Asana !!

    So I have to find another way .

    At the moment this helps :

    Yoga is not about the shape of your body but the shape of your life .
    Yoga is not to be performed ,
    Yoga is TO BE LIVED.
    Yoga doesn’t care about what you’ve been .
    Yoga cares about the PERSON YOU’RE BECOMING
    Yoga is designed for a vast and profound purpose and for it to truly called Yoga
    It’s ESSENCE must be embodied .

    Taking that verse above as a measure of how I am doing with my Yoga , I feel I am progressing .

    There appears to be much beyond the Asana practice , is it going to be as exhilarating ?

    When we accept it , I think so.

    In fact if we don’t move beyond Asana , you could take a view that we failed to grasp the point of it all.

    Also :

    Dimitris Thomopulos who a has degenerative spine condition wrote :

    Pain will distort the mind
    Pain will overwhelm the ego.
    Be aware of the patterns of injury
    Be aware the patterns of recovery
    Practice sustainably
    DO NOT STOP PRACTICING .

    I strive towards a practice like yours , and Dimitris may long for a practice like mine ?

    But if we’re hung up on that Asana thing, we’re stuck , and It will be difficult to evolve into the best we can be.

    I hope to be practicing a form of Asana at 80 and I very much hope you’re on the mat next to me !

    Martin

  2. Mike Evans Says:

    Oh that whole ‘given’ asana thing. I respect the method, and I agree, it’s not about collecting asana. I can’t do a respectable Bhekasana either. I can do a respectable Koundinyasana A and B, and they don’t come until 3rd/Advanced A.

    • Kevin Says:

      My Bhekasana isn’t too bad, the left shoulders lack of range restricts it. I can do a couple of decent 3rd’s as well, I quite enjoy Astavakrasana

Leave a Reply

