In training for Lucy

IMG_5256.JPG
Ganesh agogo at AYL.

You know you shouldn’t have gone to practice on a moon day when you feel wrecked to start with and then in Prasarita you suddenly realise your shirt is on back to front and your shorts are actually inside out and back to front, is that what my mat neighbour J was laughing for.

I show up on my mat every day, but my practice is so erratic. This freezing cold weather doesn’t help, everything is tighter and it’s all a struggle. C at the local Shala was on me today, it felt like she was trying to get us ready for Lucy Scott at the end of February. I just didn’t have the energy for doing Salabhasana and Dhanurasana twice, then after I had done 6 Urdva Dhanurasana on my own she has me do a load more with a block between my knees to try and get my thighs to inwardly rotate more.

I wonder if I’m sickening for something, I had no energy left to control the dropbacks let alone inwardly rotate anything on the way down. On days like today it feels as far away as ever, yet a couple of days last week I was having controlled drop backs and rocking and easily coming up off 1/2 thickness blocks.

When time allows I’ve added in the alternative nostril breathing Hamish recommended, then Angela’s “Sitting” practice for a few minutes before Savasana, but this is time not to mention space dependent, at the local Shala I often run out of time and at AYL there is often a premium on space in the Finishing Room.

Today I had space and time, but feeling pretty tired I was conscious of needing to eat so as not to have another “Tesco moment”.

4 Responses to “In training for Lucy”

  1. Mike Evans Says:

    How I recognise that feeling! Another ashtangi torturing himself into submission, supposedly in the name of progress and enlightenment.

    I’ve just turned over a new leaf, overcome my lethargy, and booked to do another two weeks Thai massage training in Chiang Mai in March. Somehow that feels better than beating my body up with a yoga practice.

    • globie Says:

      The strange thing is I think a lot depends on the environment and expectations. Local Shala practice seems to leave me depleted and shattered, where as this morning I did the same practice in the heat and focus of AYL and I was tired at the end, but I didn’t feel so totally wrecked as I did yesterday, and that came on top of a 2 hour replacement bus trip to get there.

      I’m actually off to Bangkok for a week in March, think I’ll need a Thai massage or two after the week with Lucy

      • Mike Evans Says:

        Oh! We may be there at the same time. I’m transiting through BKK on 16th March and spending a few days there on my return trip at the start of April. Pop up to Chiang Mai for a few days if you have time!

  2. globie Says:

    I’ll be back in cold Blighty by then. Although I’ve been through BKK airport a few times in the last few years I haven’t been to the city since 2005

Leave a Reply

