I refuse to believe the correlation!

I refuse to believe the correlation!

A couple of weeks ago I was munching my Gluten, sugar and salt free Aldi breakfast granola, when I crunched down on a harder than usual cluster and shattered one front tooth completely and broke 25% off the side of it’s neighbour! a clusterfuck if ever I felt one. This has resulted in a massive dental bill and multiple painful visits to Dorota the nice polish Dentist.

IMG_5531.JPG
Since the dental clusterfuck I’ve desisted, it’s been a struggle, from my favourite cookies and the slabs of white chocolate that usually help get me through the working week, as Dorota said the temporary crown is ” for smiling, not for eating!”, which has resulted in a soft diet, so glad croissants are soft, this healthy eating business is clearly over rated, not to mention bloody expensive.

The upshot of this suddenly enforced diet is a sudden realization that the first side of Pasasana has got much easier to bind, I’ve always been able to bind the 2nd side, so was I carrying extra pounds on the first side, is a cookie and chocolate free diet the secret to Pasasana? It hasn’t made backbends any easier of late, now if it had I would almost be tempted to give up chocolate a while longer, but I won’t be giving up chocolate in the pursuit of Pasasana, that’s for sure!

Along with the teeth issue I stepped back off a step stool while cutting the hedge in the front garden last week and did “something” to my left knee, I couldn’t walk the next day, I actually fell over when I got up and tried to bend it. Slathered in a combo of Rumalaya and Tiger Balm it’s improved, I can walk and do most of practice , though Tiriang Mukha and Krounchasana are impossible and lotus poses are non binding.

Hopefully by the end of this week I’ll have a new tooth crown and a functioning left knee, just in time for my week in Cornwall with Lucy Scott.

6 Responses to “I refuse to believe the correlation!”

  1. V Says:

    Ouch Kev. That looks painful.

    • globie Says:

      Hi V, it didn’t really hurt when I did it, but the dental stuff has been painful and no longer being able to take Paracetamol is a problem. New crown on Thursday I hope and I’m trying to get Aldi to pay the bill

  2. Mike Evans Says:

    Yeaowch! Why does life get in the way of yoga? No apples and toffee for you. Just have to stick to the syrup pancakes and cheesecake I guess. I recently had to add to the stash of gold in my mouth – most likely induced by the crude and unnecessary dentistry of my youth. Then on Sunday I swung my bag onto my back and sprained (at least I hope that’s all it is) my wrist. Various activities, including arm balances and making the pots I should be making for next month’s exhibition are on hold.

    • globie Says:

      At least yoga wasn’t to blame for either event. I don’t like apples anyway, thankfully my sweet of choice, Battenburg cake is delightfully soft ! The knee thing was weird, it didn’t exactly hurt, but just didn’t feel right, then the next morning was bloody agony.

  3. Ursula Says:

    Oh Kev, you made me laugh. Your post is very well written. Our journey through life is also a journey with pain and accidents. Whatever happens, whatever changes, one thing doesn’t change: we schlepp ourselves on the mat to practice Ashtanga yoga. Two thumbs up.
    (All the best for your visits at the dentist and all the best for your knee, too.)

    • globie Says:

      Thanks Ursula, the tooth is repaired, I just have to be careful. The knee is ok for walking but not for Tiriang Mukha or Krounchasana. We get on the mat and do what we can.

Leave a Reply

