Utrecht days 2-3

IMG_5705.JPG
Two days of long practices, even longer breakfasts and a bit of afternoon exploring.

Over the course of these 2 days Philippa adjusted, changed little habits and answered people’s questions. On the last day the studio had someone taking photos of Philippa teaching, interesting to see what my postures look like, I was quite surprised to see that in Dhanurasana my thighs are off the ground.

Standing she mostly left me alone, apart from widening my stance. Seated it was little things like the standing foot position in the Marichyasana poses, my drishte in Navasana and jumping through, or my lack of jumping all the way through. P got me to have the hands wider in downward dog and have my feet pointing back to try and slide through, a work in progress and very much in it’s infancy after 5 years of not doing it.

IMG_5724.JPG
Marichyasana

The other jumping experiment in to Bhujapidasana got better, though it felt like I was crossing my feet in the wrong place and was in danger of nose splatasana. Then of course she wants me to do the getting the legs in to Bakhasana without touching down, which is another whole project.

After the painful Supta K I’ve had the last few weeks, I’ve been doing an exercise to traction my back, separating the discs and making space, Supta K exit has become much less painful

IMG_5714.JPG
Supta Padangusthasana

Supta Padangusthasana on Friday Philippa gave me a superb adjustment getting my foot to the ground, this never usually happens, mainly because I think I can’t do it and at AYL there isn’t usually the lateral space to try it. But when P put me in it I noticed my leg wasn’t as high up which may be the way to go, space permitting.

Although I’m nowhere near getting my heals down in Pasasana without the help of the rolled up mat tactic, the having one foot forward a bit is letting me bind it and try and find the balance, it was very disconcerting the first day when she took my “cheat” away, but I’ll keep trying.

IMG_5717.JPG
Dhanurasana

The exit for Krounchasana is also a new project, Philippa watched as I disentangled the bent leg as normal, then crossed and jumped back, instead she had me cross the straight leg over the bent one, put the hands in front and jump back from there, which was completely doable to my surprise.

Dhanurasana is better than I thought, now I’ve seen what it looks like, I asked Philippa about the hands, more specifically my habit of the fingers being on one side of my leg and the thumb on the other, all on the same side is the way to go, though I need to experiment with this in Parsva Dhanurasana, otherwise my arm gets trapped and I get beached.

IMG_5735.JPG
Ustrasana
Ustrasana, she had me taking the Pelvis forward a little as well as having her feet in my back to adjust it. It’s been very useful to have some feedback and advice with the 2nd series poses.

The backbends haven’t been as painful this week, but not as deep. Philippa had me doing Urdva Dhanurasana on my own, then with her assisting, she says, like Harmony did, that in need to walk in further and make it more stable to get the dropbacks back.

IMG_5719.JPG
Urdva Dhanurasana

Dropbacks she has had me hanging back with straight legs, it’s the front of the body, the legs. After I had done a few of these yesterday she told me to do a dropback to the floor as she watched, my legs lose it around the point of no return and go outwards, I did manage to get my hands on the floor before my head, but it was a close run thing!

It’s been a great three days of practice, lots to take away, but I’m not as physically wrecked as I was after the week with Lucy.

IMG_3585.JPG
Trying on some clogs

The afternoons have been fun exploring with Suzanne, as well as Utrecht we took in Gouda one afternoon and had a boat trip on the canals of Amsterdam.

This was a very spontaneous trip, but it worked out great

3 Responses to “Utrecht days 2-3”

  1. Laura Says:

    Sounds great Kev. I’m trying that krounchasana exit today!

  2. Cindy Says:

    Great pictures! I am smiling 🙂

Leave a Reply

