What went ping

6 weeks or so ago I did the Saturday led class at the Shala, Louise led is nice and steady. Steadily I went until I got to Utita Hasta balance at the end of standing, as I put my leg outwards on the second side, suddenly a gun shot sound emanated from my left wrist and a pain that went right through my arm.

Ive left it a while in the hope that it would just get better on its own, but UHP is impossible, as is lifting the kettle, which is obviously even more serious! My pinky finger and the one next to it aren’t working either, so C at the local Shala advised me to see “someone”. Luckily our local shala has an occasional Assistant in the shape of local physiotherapist Rachel, which made explaining how I did it a lot easier.

After a very thorough and pretty uncomfortable examination she came to the the conclusion that I’ve managed to rupture my Flexor Digitorum Profundus muscle, which also explains why my fingers have stopped working.

I now have exercises plus a tub of therapy putty plus a load of “don’t do’s”, as in no pulling ie doors open, no holding my iPad in my left hand like I usually do, no asanas that pull on the hand. She’s given me 2-3 weeks to see if the regime improves things, if not apparently I’ll need a scan and possibly a small surgery to re attach the thing.

Surprisingly most of practice is still doable, pushing on the hand in down dog or pushing up into backbend is fine, as R says I’m not using that muscle much, it’s binds where I’m grabbing on, the bum balances that I need to avoid.

It’s such a stupid nonsensical injury

One Response to “What went ping”

  1. shelery Says:

    Hope it gets better soon xx

Leave a comment