After the ping

Thanks to diligently doing the Physiotherapists exercises and not doing things that piss the wrist off for the last 6 weeks or so, it’s definitely getting there.

However the older I get the more life seems to be one step forward and two steps back. The (relatively) new job requires me to read lists on paper and use a computer with an ancient excel type program, reading both has been a struggle. I went to the optician expecting new glasses , I came away with referrals for a laser surgery on the left eye and a cataract operation on the right, so now I’m in Rishi’s backlog of 7 million and struggling. Once a cataract is confirmed you can’t not see the bloody thing and however many times you close and open your eyes to try and clear the mist it’s still there.

It’s becoming unsustainable at work, despite the Boss kindly making the fonts as big and bold as possible. I’ve actually had the initial hospital consultation and now I’m in the queue for round two, then wait round three when surgery happens. It’s looking like I’ll have to can the job fairly soon, I’m only part time, but after 4 hours I’m going home to a splitting headache and streaming strained eyes, not sure I can manage this much longer with the surgery so far away.

Practice is erratic, but without my glasses on at the shala it’s always been a bit of a blur anyway, so the eye issues don’t make any difference. I’m not looking forward to what I know will be an enforced 6-8 weeks off practice and much else post op, I remember the list of things not to do from last time, no exercise, no yoga, nothing to up the blood pressure, no bending down, no grocery shopping, nothing where the head is below the heart, no rubbing eyes when you wake up, which is such an automatic thing to do and as for trying to do the 3 times a day bloody eye drops on my own, that’s another nightmare.

Leave a comment